My Mental Health Calender

My Mental Health Tracker That Helps Me Notice Improvements

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros
4 min readJan 23, 2017

--

My mental health is so important to me; as important as standing up for it. Standing up for what I believe in. I believe in a healthy, positive mental health system.

And I’m gonna work hard, and do my parts in not only breaking the stigma around mental illness but also in fixing the broken system itself as well.

Bell Let’s Talk Day is really important and crucial with participation that comes with a citizen’s participation in their part of this goal to fix the broken mental health system and breaking the stigma around mental illness.

So, get ready for Bell Let’s Talk Day, coming up this Wednesday (January 25th, 2017). I know I’m ready!

“4am wake up. Dark thoughts and anxieties. Some based on reality, others fantasy. I count the minutes till it fades.” – Michael Landsberg, Sick Not Weak

No illness whether it’s mental, physical, or emotional; should never be shamed in any negative form.

Why should any of us treat mental illness like the negative moments with those with a physical illness? It’s not fair in ways that aren’t just unethical but also wrong, unhealthy and overall dangerous to our own individual realities.

What if those who aren’t on our side: respecting, accepting, supporting, understanding and even advocating (which includes education on mental health); to try their best to (while taking one step, one day at a time: again no one gets it right the first 5 or 50 times, but everyone will eventually get there: and as long as they try and dedicate themselves to a promise to hold on and try harder to support their friends, loved ones, and other acquaintances) to change their views, beliefs for the mental health system overall the mental health subject overall as a whole.

Mental ilness may be define or discriminate but it is possible:

“I stand here today as proof that you can live a normal and empowered life with mental illness.” – Demi Lovato

Demi Lovato has always been a huge celebrity of mine that I follow, support as a fan and have looked up to her as a role model.

My moods are up and down. I have my good days, I have my great days and other times I have my bad days or really bad days. But that’s all part of the reality of recovery.

I’ve made peace with that and all else that I’ve learned and gained from my recovery just by putting myself out there: experiencing life regardless of how hard, difficult, challenging yet sometimes, impossible to survive. But I manage in my own ways, on my own terms.

Aromatherapy really helps with your mental health. You have trouble sleeping, with anxiety, worry and stress? Choose the stress relief products from Bath & Body Works for they work. Put some lotion, cream or spray wherever you feel you need to help calm you down at night.

I’m really proud and happy with myself for moving on from my past. Truly grateful. I am also glad that my mom is more into knowing and learning more about mental health by reading “The No-Bullshit Guide To Depression” together as for she got it for me for Christmas.

It feels kinda weird, different and a little uncomfortable this is the first time she is actually trying to support me in the way all parents should, when it comes to learning and caring for our mental health. Yet to get change, you must feel uncomfortable and most times involves an element of risk.

With every big decision, comes an equally important share of the risk by Demi Lovato, Can’t Back Down (Camp Rock 2).

In which I’ve quoted in a few previous happier moments in the near-end of 2016 and beginning of 2017!

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.