The Beginning Of A Healthier Lifestyle

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros
2 min readMar 17, 2020

--

Well with how my 3rd depressive episode has come since February 2018 (2 years later), it’s finally come to change. I’ll be gradually making small changes.

Other than already have been working part time as a cashier at Superstore (to help pay off my VISA, and my parents for my $350 phone bill: from the 400+ texts I sent to the guy who scammed me with a government grant located in Kenya), it’s a start to getting back to my healthier habits and lifestyle.

I’ve been in the rut and in a stagnating state for too long. And I need to get in more control of my time management and my decisions. Which practicing mindfulness daily will help with many things:

  • Self control
  • Reduce disassociation
  • Memory
  • Retraining my brain (from negative to positive; from reactive to responsive, from impulsive to in control)
  • Eventually help by bringing back my “voices “ aka my thoughts

Plus on top of practicing DBT in therapy weekly, I’ll be further than I ever have been since I got into this episode. I miss my old self; my real, true and most authentic self. And I miss my… voices… so much. They help me accomplish things more easily. They help guide me and tell me each step I need to accomplish with each task.

With the Coronavirus (CODIV-19) affecting everyone more (as noticed from working cashier shifts at a grocery store) lately; many businesses like outlet malls, malls, restaurants, even fast food places and more are temporarily shut down until further notice; it’s been hard for me too.

I never thought that I’d be struggling with the effects of this pandemic.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.