The Story Of My Life

Just because you have the picture, doesn’t mean you have the whole story. ~ 13 Reasons Why

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros
3 min readJun 5, 2019

--

Walls don’t keep you safe.

Through everything I’ve been through and all I’ve lived, it’s true to say that I’ve been through a lot and I’m still choosing to fight for what’s right and more importantly, what I truly deserve and who I wanna be in this life!

Regardless of what it may actually look like, I’m still working up the courage, will power and motivation to make my dreams a reality. Well at least one, one baby step at a time; while taking one day at a time! And to mention, today is the day of my appointment with Dr. Kao and this is the one where everything changes for me!

These fences might keep us safe from what goes on the outside, but who’s gonna protect us from what’s going on inside?

This is the day where I begin to live my dreams and make them a reality and enjoy living my life the way I choose: (authentic) and who I wanna be without any fears, worries, thoughts, voices in my head getting in the way or peace, happiness or anything that has always mattered to me!

I’ve always had a lot of big dreams as I still and continually believe in dreaming big: and though it’s been real slow with making them a reality with my life and all; but this will hopefully be the day that changes that!

If I wanted to wish for something, I think I would wish to have courage for a change. I wish that I could be brave, I wish I could stand up for myself and stop letting people treat me like I’m a pushover. I wish I was strong enough to speak up when I felt I had an opinion and needed to be heard.

I’ve always wanted to have enough courage to live my most authentic life and be the most authentic self I can be! And I’ve struggled with that a lot and is one of the things I wish to overcome and work on!

Because after all it’s my life, I shouldn’t let anyone or what anyone thinks get in the way of anything I want to achieve in my life; nor who I want to be!

I gotta also work on not limiting myself after all I have two more shifts left at my place of employment (which has been limiting me so highly, it’s been affecting my recovery and my mental wellbeing); i won’t have that kind of environment holding me back from endless possibilities, unlimited possibilities!

Wherever you want to do, do it now. There are only so many tomorrows! ~ Michael Landon

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.