Time To Get Serious About My Health

Circumstances & moments have brought me here today:

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros
2 min readMar 4, 2020

--

Well I believe I’m here to say that it’s finally that time for me to get super serious about making changes to my lifestyle and my health. So much of what I’ve been around too much of, I have been giving too much power to and also being in the “emotional mind” rather than in the “rational mind” or “wise mind”.

I’m working on DBT in therapy weekly. I started working on DBT since sometime fall 2019. I’m done the mindfulness section of it, this week I’ll be starting on the distress tolerance section. As shown below are the 4 ways to enhance life skills:

Comprehensive DBT focuses on four ways to enhance life skills:

  1. Distress tolerance: Feeling intense emotions like anger without reacting impulsively or using self-injury or substance abuse to dampen distress.
  2. Emotion regulation: Recognizing, labeling, and adjusting emotions.
  3. Mindfulness: Becoming more aware of self and others and attentive to the present moment.
  4. Interpersonal effectiveness: Navigating conflict and interacting assertively.

Anyway, working on DBT when I lost my voices (thoughts: ability to feel: fear, anxiety, stress, panic, overthinking, worry, etc) in 2018, it’s been so challenging and hard for me to do basic and small chores and tasks without losing my attention or focus. Though that’s part of my ADD (Attention Deficiency Disorder).

When it comes to thinking more positively, and exercising my mind to help retrain it to get into the habit (second nature) of thinking positively more, being more in the rational or wise mind than in the emotional mind, having more power over my anger and urges and habits, etc; it’s rather harder than it may be without my voices to help me. Oh and also how can I forget the condition/state of my memory.

“You have to see it from a different dimension. From a machine here but that means it’s transmitting there. What if it’s not just predicting the future, it’s broadcasting. When I touch this thing, for a few minutes it felt like anything was possible. So then why can’t the opposite happen? What if the monitor is just a giant pin. But instead of making you think positive, it’s negative. And it’s convincing the whole world to feed the wrong wolf.” ~ Tomorrowland

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.