Why Green?

Why is green 1/2 of my fave colours?

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros
2 min readJun 15, 2016

--

Because green represents mental health. Purple represents anti-bullying and other colours have their own symbols too. But why green that symbolizes mental health? Because I have suffered from my own various mental health issues and now that I’ve fully recovered, wearing green, and posting all about mental health and working on my own projects with it like many others around the world. Also I want to not just for myself reaching an amazing milestone for reaching the end of my recovery with no as much support as I had hoped for but I made it and I’m proud of that. And also for others who have been in my place, those who have had it worse than me. I want to give hope to them and so much more!

But I didn’t really talk about why green symbolizes mental health. I’m not entirely sure why green was picked for mental health but I do know it is a good match together.

Mental health has meant a great deal to me ever since I became aware that I had a problem. Particularly depression, wasn’t aware that I had anxiety disorder till May 20th 2015. Which was when I took an online mental health test which I was a little surprised by. Ever since then, I’ve gone through worse mental health issues and after reaching the end of my recovery, I have always been more well aware of how I should treat it for all my recovery has taught me. I’ve learned a lot from my recovery which I’m ever so truly grateful for.

But the problem is my parents refuse to accept that I had a mental problem and just continue believing that I was just sad and lazy in 2nd semester of college last year. They hated every time I brought up this topic around them entirely. So the last time I mentioned it was either August after meeting with a special doctor (that I shared most of the basics but some details come to mind that I forgot to mention and in the end of the appointment, she said I was depressed, I’m in recovery and there’s no need for a diagnosis) and January 27th {Bell Let’s Talk Day. So what. The symptoms, signs, days when I was depressed, suicidal, wanting to harm myself with knives, razors and pain killers, losing my humanity and more are in the past yet still able to use for diagnosis. It’s just wrong to just say something like that. After that it drives me insane that I still didn’t have/get my diagnosis. All I have are the results from the online mental health test which I also showed her.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Mental Health Superheros

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.