Can You Relax With A Mobile App? I Put 3 To The Test

William Bessette
Mental Health Tech
Published in
6 min readAug 5, 2015

I pride myself on being a calm person. I often extol the virtues of meditation and mindfulness, even if — on occasion — I’m bad at adhering to them myself.

In this highly interconnected, digitized world, where information comes at us from all angles, relaxation doesn’t come easy. So I set out to change the paradigm. Rather than let the hectic nature of my digital reality stress me out, could I instead use mobile apps to relax me?

When it comes to relaxation, yes — there’s an app for that. There’s actually quite a few apps for that. With only so much time in a day, and so much space in this article, I chose the top three relaxation apps available right now and gave each a whirl for 3 days: Flowy (Android, iPhone), The Mindfulness App (Android, iPhone) y Relaxation Melodies: Sleep & Yoga (Android, iPhone).

Here are the results.

Gamified Relaxation Techniques: Flowy

The first app I chose to review is called Flowy (Android, iPhone). It seemed like a logical place to start since it comes with some weighty accolades.

Earlier this year Flowy underwent a controlled efficacy trial by the Wolfson Institute of Preventative Medicine at the Queen Mary University of London. The outcome appeared to indicate that Flowy was able to effectively relax the participants.

Flowy uses breathing techniques to relax the player. As you tap-and-hold a circle in the middle of the screen, the app instructs you to inhale and hold. Release the button, then repeat the process when you exhale. If you let go too soon the app requires you to try again.

There is a storyline to follow as you use the app. Partway through, it turns into a game where you collect coins and move a ship based on your rate of deep breathing.

Whether you ask Harvard or the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, deep breathing works. While I feel the deep breathing in Flowy did have a calming effect on my mental state, playing the game itself wasn’t particularly relaxing.

Forcing myself to track my breaths, navigate a ship around obstacles, and frantically collect coins didn’t exactly relax me. Losing lives — or hearts — wasn’t very conducive to filling myself with peaceful energy.

I also feel like sound plays a big part in whether or not a person feels relaxed. Flowy has no sound.

My deep breathing was subject to constant interruptions, like my partner watching television, the blaring of someone’s horn, or the rattle of my air conditioner. Being able to put a set of headphones on and listen to some lovely sounds as I played would have elevated the experience.

Overall, I appreciated Flowy for spurring me to practice breathing techniques more often, but was slightly put off by its cartoony game feel and lack of soothing audio.

Find Inner Peace: The Mindfulness App

Flowy had great credentials, but what do the people like? The Mindfulness App (Android, iPhone) often shows up on reviewers’ lists, so it was next.

While Flowy made me feel like I was playing a game, The Mindfulness App was more like a utility app. Not only did it rely on breathing techniques, but it also touched on meditation, calming bells, and mindfulness messages.

The best part of the app were the mindfulness notices. These are intended to be uplifting messages that you schedule to pop up on your phone at some point in the future. The notification sound is a calming bell.

The app comes preloaded with such gems as “Are you taking care of this moment?” and “Notice the nature of the sensations in your body.

When I was feeling inspired, I could create my own messages and set the time and frequency with which they appear.

Serendipity struck on day two when I was cut in line at a fast food drive-thru by a kid who couldn’t have cared less that I was next.

Just as I was about to give my forehead vein a workout and fill my car with colorful expletives, the mindfulness bell rang and there was the notification I’d set the day before reminding me to “Love someone right now.” The universe had great timing.

Instantly, I was calm. The kid in front of me was no longer a string of unfortunate words, but was simply misguided and deserving of forgiveness. I loved him. This just after I wanted to hurl a brick through his back window for delaying my hamburger by 45 seconds.

During my three days with The Mindfulness App, I found myself markedly calmer and more relaxed. I meditated more, had more positive thoughts, and found myself actively carving out the time to use it.

Meditation has long been proven to relieve stress, increase focus, and inspire relaxation. Any app that helps me keep this useful practice on my daily to-do list is alright with me.

I found it difficult to discontinue using The Mindfulness App as I gave the third app a spin, but it was time to move on to audio relaxation.

Relaxation Melodies: Sleep & Yoga

The final stop on my relaxation app tour was in the land of calming sounds and pleasing music. Relaxation Melodies: Sleep & Yoga (Android, iPhone) not only tops the Google Play charts, but it has been reviewed countless times.

A 2013 study published in the journal PLOS One found that listening to soothing music and calming sounds promotes faster recovery time when stressors are present.

Relaxation Melodies has a myriad of categories to keep you interested, from river and rain to ocean and birds. If you’re in the mood for something more manmade, try out the music box or lounge categories.

It was nice to be able to combine sounds, as well. Why not let the birds and breeze accompany the waves lapping on the beach? The sounds are authentic, and it’s easy to be lulled into a sense of contentment as they quietly play in the background.

I wasn’t a huge fan of the ads. Although they are understandable considering this app is free, seeing an ad for Game of War doesn’t exactly mesh with a relaxing vibe.

While I did feel there could have been more variety to this app, I can’t deny trying to find quiet moments to play sounds over the three days I used it.

I also supplemented my fan (white noise generator) at night and instead fell asleep listening to the pleasing sounds of the rainforest. My dreams thanked me.

Finding My Zen: Final Thoughts

After nine days of testing, I am still using The Mindfulness App and Relaxation Melodies: Sleep & Yoga. I also noticed that over the testing period, I was much more relaxed. On some level, all three apps worked, even if I found a few deficiencies in them.

Before testing these apps, I’d looked at my smartphone through the lens of someone who is mildly addicted. The constant drumbeat of news, posts, tweets, updates, and notifications often leave me feeling like the digital revolution is more like a digital curse.

Fortunately, for us technologically saturated people, apps exist to help calm us down, keep us focused, and relax our brains. Don’t let the digital world leave you stressed and on edge. Try out some relaxation apps and discover a world of calm in the palm of your hand.

--

--