Lisa’s Story: A Diagnosis Of Freedom

Madelyn and Virginia
Mental Mamas
Published in
2 min readAug 4, 2016

Lisa lives in Perth, Australia with her husband and 13-month-old son, Hamandishe. She is due with another bundle of joy in March of next year. Lisa is diagnosed with bipolar I disorder, postnatal depression, and PTSD.

To be honest, I don’t even know where to start!

I’m an only child, grew up around a very abusive father, and was sexually abused at 7 years old.

From that age I think I lost my way. My parents split when I was 15, I drank, I slept around…I made terrible mistakes. My lowest point was when I was arrested. Faced with the stark reality that I was going to prison, I was luckily granted a reprieve of sorts.

My lawyer realized that there was something going on with me that I had no control over anymore.

I finally received the help I so desperately needed! I left my ex husband, started anew.

I met my current husband 6 years ago (in a nightclub!) & we dated a little then went our separate ways for a few months. Once we realised that we still had strong feelings for each other, we decided to give the relationship another go.. so here we are 6 years later.

In 2014 I took a pregnancy test & wouldn’t you bloody know it…POSITIVE! 2 months before my wedding!

The pregnancy was smooth, until the birth where everything went wrong. My husband’s brother died 7 days before I gave birth, so not even 4 days after giving birth, my husband had to leave to go to the UK. I hated him for leaving, to be honest. He promised to be here with me. Unfortunately my little bundle had a shocking case of reflux & colic, so he never slept..just constantly screamed. After 2 months I found a new low point. I tried to kill myself. I couldn’t do it anymore. I couldn’t be near my son.

I voluntarily signed myself into a mental health hospital (with bub) & just hoped they could help me. Post Natal Depression…the minute I heard those words I finally felt…free. Knowing that what’s going on in my head isn’t the true me. It’s the depression.

It’s been nearly a year since the night I decided to end my life.

What would have happened if I had? I wouldn’t be watching my son walk..I wouldn’t have gone to London (my life long dream).

I wouldn’t be carrying the newest addition to our family.

This is my story…there is so much more to it, but honestly, some parts I’d rather leave behind

--

--

Madelyn and Virginia
Mental Mamas

Madelyn and Virginia are friends, mothers, and both battle mental illness.