September is Suicide Prevention Month

Madelyn and Virginia
Mental Mamas
Published in
3 min readSep 2, 2016

This month is important. It’s dedicated to spreading awareness about suicide and what you as individuals can do to prevent it when you encounter a loved one who is suicidal. Suicide can be prevented, but most people don’t know how, and don’t know what roll they can play in helping a loved on who is suicidal.

I want to provide you with some ideas and ways that you can help a loved one who is contemplating suicide, and all of these ideas are based upon my own personal experience. Yes, I have experience with suicide, which not many people know about me.

I am a suicide survivor, meaning that I once attempted suicide and thankfully, failed in my attempt.

I can’t remember how old I was, but I was maybe in the 7th or 8th grade and was severely depressed. I wasn’t getting along with my parents at all, I hated my life, I was being irresponsible and disrespectful with my body and felt used and worthless.

One day, I swallowed a bottle of pills in attempt to end my life since I had decided that it was not worth living anymore. Thankfully, I had only taken enough to make myself severely sick.

Since then, I haven’t attempted suicide, but there have been several occasions where I have planned to attempt it, and almost followed through with those plans. But instead of following through, I took myself to the ER and got help.

During these low times in my life, I wish my friends and family would have known how to help me. I’ve compiled a list of ideas and ways that my loved ones could have helped me when I was suicidal, in attempt to give you some insight into what you as an individual can do if you encounter a loved one who is feeling the same way I was.

  1. Listen.
    Take your loved one seriously when they tell you how they are feeling. Listen, and really hear them when they explain their depression and suicidal thoughts. Listening and hearing them will make them feel important and valued.
  2. Physically be there.
    Spending time with someone who is having a hard time with suicidal thoughts may be difficult because that person may insist that they want to be alone. Don’t push them to spend time with you, but always make them aware that you are available to be there for them.
  3. Offer hope, reassurance, and encouragement.
    Tell your loved one that even though things seem bad right now, they will change. Tell them that you will be there with them as things get better, and encourage them to wait it out. Encourage them to seek help from a therapist or psychiatrist, and even go to the appointments with them if they ask you to. Offer hope by sharing your favorite inspirational quotes or bible verses.
  4. Make a safety plan.
    Your loved one who is feeling suicidal may be feeling like they have no control over what they are thinking or feeling. Create a safety plan with your friend or family member that includes them calling you when they are feeling really bad, and encourage them to make and keep promises on the safety plan that they will follow through with when they are in crisis.
  5. Be supportive, but don’t hover
    Offer your support physically and emotionally, but don’t treat your loved one like a baby or like they are sick. Make them feel worthy and loved, but don’t make them feel like you are babysitting them.

These are just a few of the ways that my friends and family could have helped me when I was feeling suicidal. For additional ideas and resources, check out the links below.

This month, do your research into suicide prevention and start the conversation about suicide. Suicidal thoughts are nothing to be ashamed of, and they need to be talked about upon having them. Educate yourself on how to handle a loved one and their suicidal thoughts.

--

--

Madelyn and Virginia
Mental Mamas

Madelyn and Virginia are friends, mothers, and both battle mental illness.