Antoinette Renee Patterson
Mental Wellness Singapore
3 min readOct 19, 2018

--

Singapore Stories: Finding Strength In Getting Mental Health Help

Each day began to crawl. Each second weighed on my temple, and guilt began to flood through my body. Pressures from my parents, teachers, and peers that dictated personal feelings over my own successes, now seemed to take root in my own conscience. I felt a prisoner of everyone’s expectations and it felt best to smother out any sign of my own emotions; replacing it with shame, fear and frustration. I realized my mind was suppressed by the thoughts of others, and something needed to be done in order to take back only the essential elements of positivity that allow me to stay afloat in a stressful time in my life. Staying silent made me feel weak, fighting back in a way that was constructive allowed me to enter back into the community in a way that felt right and honest towards others. Harmony can replace chaos of our thoughts, and it can help us now work better and more easily and for the nation at large. I never felt comfortable in the community as much as I do now, after I helped myself. If everyone in our community felt such violent and negative emotions our relationships would crumble. This is why we sometimes we need to take notice of our emotions and thoughts, and do something about them.

Thinking back I remember I could see my parents glaring at me with disappointment in my minds eye. But I haven’t even done anything wrong I thought. In fact I do everything people expect me to do and better. Why am I not seeing more gratification from others, but most of all from even myself. My true emotions were always clouded over by such negative thoughts and energy, and staying in silence out of fear made me feel weak; by not letting my self breathe.

Coping with such emotions is needed, granted a challenge that can be done. It can help open up our true emotions that may feel lost or hidden from us for too long. Parents and peers may guide us through life, but its not easy knowing they even can guide our emotional states; our core of being.

Remembering to get help, and reach out to deal with everything is simply helping yourself reorganize your thoughts and put to a place you feel comfortable with. Settling down any unneeded frustrations or embarrassment from others, is required in many of our lives affected by mental health issues. Ignoring to seek help and fighting against yourself, allowing negative emotions such as poor self image, sadness and guilt to fill up our thoughts and conscience, is the issue.

For getting help is when you first come to a realization there are problems, and you will do something to fix it. You have the abilities to dictate your own health, for the betterment of your own being and that of the communities, allowing you to come back as a stronger and more resilient person.

--

--

Antoinette Renee Patterson
Mental Wellness Singapore

Digital Advertising Native by day, Social Entrepreneur by night. I’ve been advocating mental health for the last 5 years.