Write For Us

Helen J
mentall
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2024

--

I applied to write for Invisible Illness last week, as those of us with mental illnesses should be able to write freely about our vulnerabilities. I believe that they have about 54k followers, and they are now selective about who they choose to add as a writer.

I’ve had enough of wasting my time in waiting for something that may never happen, and hoping that it will popularise me as a writer in order to earn more bucks. I’m just never going to be one of those ‘blessed’ writers who has thousands of followers and makes over $10 per month.

However, I do have a mental illness called Emotional Unstable Personality Disorder, or Borderline Personality Disorder, and it’s a pretty brutal lifelong disability with little understanding amongst most people in the real world.

Join me as I raise awareness of this invisible illness, and if you have a mental health disability and find it difficult to find a medium publication who will accept your work, then join Mentall as a writer.

Become a writer at mentall

Add a comment to this post with your medium username and I’ll get you added within 48 hours. All writers, whether new or older, are welcome.

All vulnerabilities welcome

Write about any subjects, so long as it’s related to mental illness. Even if you have no mental illness, perhaps you have a family or friend who suffers and wish to raise awareness. Alternatively, maybe you are a health professional who wants to raise awareness about mental illness. Your content is very welcome!

Free or member only

If you want to make your story membership only so that you can earn from the medium partner program, that’s fine, but you can make your stories free too.

To follow or not to follow

It’s always helpful if you could follow me as a writer, or follow this publication, but this is not mandatory in order to write at mentall.

Word Count

Write content as short or as long as you want to. I think in order to earn money on the medium partner program, you need to write content that will hold the attention of your audience for a minimum thirty seconds.

Are you wondering can I spell?

Yes I can spell. In fact, I did pretty poorly with my school GCSE’s, but at least got a C in English language, so I know that mental is spelt without two Ls, but someone had grabbed the username Mental, and to add another L to this publication seemed such an easy naming option.

Welcome aboard.

--

--

Helen J
mentall

First time mom at 42. Sufferer of Borderline Personality Disorder and Dermatillomania. Believer in Jesus Christ. Passionate about fitness and nutrition.