How to Dream Big, Work Hard and Help People Everyday — Rezwanur Story

MentorNations
MentorNations
Published in
6 min readMar 7, 2018
Photo credits: Rezwanur Rahman

Pretty awesome, right?

But, do you know what really sucks about dreams?

Those foolish dreams could slip through your fingers in a heartbeat. We all have that moment of clarity at least once in a lifetime.

Mine was written in blood.

A couple of hijackers caught me while one of them stabbed me with a knife.

“Am I gonna die right now, right here?”

They say when you are about to die, your whole life flashes right before your eyes. Guess what? They are wrong. You only see the things you love.

And man, I love software engineering. I love my family.

Remember me: RR, a brilliant software engineer working at Microsoft, a loving husband and a family man.

“I can’t just give up now”

In the middle of that chaos, I looked back to when everything started.

Dream Big!

Rezwanur is going places

Since you were a kid, teachers, parents and friends; They all ask you about your dream job.

For me, it was simple.

I wanted to become a software engineer at Microsoft.

Simple doesn’t necessarily mean it’s easy.

Let me explain:

I started programming in 2004, when I was in sixth grade. I loved playing with different desktop software. I wanted to become a software engineer in order to help people using technology.

Isn’t that worth fighting for?

I grew up in a modest family in Bangladesh. Unfortunately, the tech scene wasn’t as evolved as today there. So, it was only natural to spend most of my teen years studying to get an A.

Well, everything comes at a price.

I didn’t have that much of a time to extend my skill-set. Lucky for me, that was about to change.

Work Hard

Our MentorNations Program in Bangladesh: Coding is for everyone

Remember when I told you earlier about working at Microsoft?

Believe it or not, I have recently been selected as the most valuable professional by Microsoft.

Can you believe it?

I am one step closer, you see.

Well it wasn’t an overnight success and it’s the same with anything you do in your life.

You need to be patient. You need to punch back and break through the walls.

So, where were we? Oh yeah, college!

Here is something I wish my dad had told me:

When opportunity knocks, take it.

Eventually, I joined The American International University — Bangladesh to study software engineering. I finally decided to get involved with the Microsoft club there.

Unlike high school, I felt the window of opportunity is open at last.

From a simple member to a Microsoft Student Partner, It was a rollercoaster to say the least. But you know what?

I kept pushing forward and extending myself.

Until it happened… Yes it happened!

I went through the door but I couldn’t believe it. I was standing there… at Microsoft HQ in REDMOND. I felt I was in a long dream and I didn’t wanna wake up.

some unforgettable moments for Rezwanur

That moment, I flashed through sleepless nights and especially the time I was mostly killed by hijackers in the street.

It was all worth it if you ask me.

At the end of the day, there is more than just working at Microsoft or doing cool stuff like Bill Gates.

I wanted to help people using technology.

Of course, there was no way I was gonna back down by a long shot.

Help people every day

Rezwanur wants to help people using Technology

Have you ever wondered why are you doing what you are doing?

Sure, Having a 6 figure income, a Ferrari and a mansion seems quite promising.

However, Here is what counts.

Impact.

This is why I rode the waves of innovation in the tech industry in the first place. Being a Microsoft student partner allowed me to accomplish my mission in many ways.

It’s not until I joined Mentornations, things started to get real.

It’s crazy how one person can alter your life path.

That person in this story is my Friend Melissa. Our roads crossed thanks to the Microsoft Community. One day, I was chatting with her. And suddenly, BOOM!

She threw the idea behind MentorNations. I didn’t think twice.

I mean… It’s my lifelong dream people!

The rest as they say is history.

Mentornations is non profit volunteer student organization that focuses on promoting digital literacy in underserved communities. Now operating in 7 countries.

I am Rezwanur Rahman, The MenterNations country manager in Bangladesh.

Rezwanur: Most Valuable Professional by Microsoft

My journey has just begun

Rezwanur at the CommonWealth Summit 2017

I am serious.

What I have done so far is only the tip of the iceberg.

I know what you are thinking:

“Dude! Come on, give yourself some credit.”

Okay…

While my work with Microsoft and MentorNations is outstanding, it’s only a piece of the puzzle. We both know that once I stop growing… Once I stop getting out of my comfort zone…

Once I stop learning, Game Over.

So, what’s my point?

True, it’s hard to make it to the top. But, it’s way harder to stay there.

Last year, I attended the Commonwealth Youth Summit, which was held in Cyberjaya, Malaysia. It was an opportunity to talk about both our work at MentorNations and coding camps with Prince Charles.

Rezwanur talking about our work at MentorNations with Prince Charles

Wait, There is more.

I have been recently selected as the official national delegate of Government of People’s Republic of Bangladesh for Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting 2018, which will be held in London, UK in April 16–18.

I have no idea about what’s lying ahead. All I can say for now:

I am living the dream!

YOU CAN DO THIS TOO!

You want to learn how to code…

You can!

You want to be a tech rockstar …

You can!

You want to help people shape their lives through technology.

You can!

Here is a thing.

If I could break through all the hardships and turn my life around, you can too.

A piece of advice.

It’s not gonna be easy. Every master was once a beginner. There will be moments when you say I am not good enough.

Keep fighting, I have faith in you.

So, follow us and get started right FREAKING NOW!

--

--

MentorNations
MentorNations

Mentornations is non profit volunteer student organizations that focuses on promoting digital literacy in underserved communities. Join us at www.mentornations.