Poetry | Self Care | Mental Health

A Stormy Homebody

Poetry created by storms and too much silence

Poet In The Arctic
Mercury Press
Published in
1 min readDec 23, 2023

--

Photo by Daoudi Aissa on Unsplash

There’s a stillness in this house

Quiet radiates off walls in the softest sound waves

Outside the wind rages on

A reminder that I am not alone in my screaming

-

My therapist has been trying to convince me of screaming

For months she has challenged me on the outcome

-

She says, “it’ll ease the pressure”

I say, “how can I allow myself to take up space”

-

There is no question in my statement

For I am no wind

No force of nature

Not even a grain of sand upon this land that isn’t mine

-

I claim nothing

Want nothing

-

Worry, my pain will radiate towards the neighbors and cause them to worry

I know there is already too much chaos next door

-

--

--

Poet In The Arctic
Mercury Press

Arctic Dreamer. Forest Breather. I write about my experiences living in the North with a side of fiction short stories and poetry.