business/feminism/women/weight/fashion/leadership

How NOT To Give Me a Performance Review

A Practical Example

Judey Kalchik
Mercury Press
Published in
4 min readJun 7, 2024

--

author selfie 6/6/2024

Ten years ago, during a yearly review, I was coached regarding my professional appearance. Advised to ‘wear more makeup’, be fashionable, be on brand.

On the way home I called my daughter, asking for her opinion; in our relationship my daughters and I don’t ask for opinions unless we want to hear the truth. She quizzed me about wearing yoga pants to work (NO!) and then colorfully explained I was not lacking in professionalism.

I was in tears, already afraid that age (54 , then) would eliminate my chances of corporate success, no matter how capable I was.

I’d prepared for a discussion about my results and contributions, not about my looks.

And as someone that struggled through an eating disorder, childhood trauma, and food addiction: I just kept thinking ‘Of course. I’m not attractive; of course I am failing.’

So I got up extra early each day to do my hair and makeup. Changed my jewelry to a classic but always present staple, went on (yet another) diet, exercised through the day, and wore a wardrobe of ‘black, black, and color accent.’

--

--

Judey Kalchik
Mercury Press

I write the truth as I see it. Twice a Top Writer. Follow me to see my writing on your homepage, subscribe for free and get an email when new content appears!