On Being Rude

East Coast woman adrift in the Mid-West

Judey Kalchik
Mercury Press

--

https://pixabay.com/users/prettysleepy1-2855492/

I don’t mean to be rude… but I suppose that I am.
Perhaps it’s because I’m from Pennsylvania?
I remember hearing someone describe me as ‘from the East Coast.’
I thought that was odd.
New Jersey is East Coast.
Philly is East-ish Coast-y.
I’m from Pittsburgh.

Then, learning that I’m a Mid-Westerner.
Just because I live in Michigan.
How is that Mid-West?
Isn’t, say, Kansas in the Middle of the States?
Wouldn’t Utah be the Middle of the West?
Geography is difficult.

Anyways, I think I’m unintentionally rude.

Happens almost everywhere.
First thing upon seeing someone walking towards me, I smile and say ‘Good Morning!’ or other greeting appropriate to the time of day.

And the person usually smiles back, says ‘Good Morning’, and then says ‘How are you?’.

To my back.

Baby, I am about two car-lengths gone already.

--

--

Judey Kalchik
Mercury Press

I write the truth as I see it. Twice a Top Writer. Follow me to see my writing on your homepage, subscribe for free and get an email when new content appears!