Sometimes We Just Float

Poet In The Arctic
Mercury Press
Published in
3 min readFeb 21, 2023

--

And other times we sink far below

Photo by Bruce Christianson on Unsplash

It’s that kind of morning where I should have gotten up when I actually woke up. But instead, I nestled deeper into the comforter and the comfort of my wife’s side.

We had turned the central heating off and overnight the house lost a couple degrees. The morning was chilly, daylight just slowly making its way outside. Even daylight had frosty breath.

I burrowed further into bed, trying to find the comfiest position to sleep in. I knew the dog was tippy-tapping for me to get up, and the cat was rumbling under the bed with excitement. But I just wasn’t ready to leave the warm gooey-ness of Sunday morning sleep.

The thing is, I’m a morning person. Any time after 3am, you can get me up and going within minutes. My brain just- turns on. And I’m up.

Obviously I’m not a night person, and I’m usually the one who wants to head to bed around 9–10pm. After 2–3pm, my productivity and motivation to do things declines rapidly. I guess I’m more of a 3am-3pm kind of person.

Obviously the world doesn’t work this way.

I knew that sinking back into slumber this morning would screw my sleep cycle.

I had seen a video about naps a couple days ago coincidentally. Some neurologist (I think?) was…

--

--

Poet In The Arctic
Mercury Press

Arctic Dreamer. Forest Breather. I write about my experiences living in the North with a side of fiction short stories and poetry.