Your Guide to Marrying Internationally

Daniel Sadowski-Tello
Mercury Press
Published in
4 min readJun 21, 2024

--

As someone who is the son of a multicultural home; my father of Polish descent who was born and raised in New Jersey and my mom who immigrated alone when she was 21 years old from Cali, Colombia and now I’m married to a Colombian woman I think I can give my ‘two-cents’ on this topic with confidence.

According to the Washington Post, they put out an article titled ‘The states where you’re most (and least) likely to marry a local’ and stated that 12.4% of Americans in 2023 married someone who was from another country.

If you see yourself being part of that growing 12.4% of Americans and are brave enough to embark on that endeavor I have 5 tips that I can pass on to you from my own experience.

Photo by Flavia Carpio on Unsplash

To love the person, you should love their culture

In my case, it was very easy to love the Colombian culture because of my mom, but she never raised me ENTIRELY in the culture. I didn’t learn Spanish or learn how to dance (some of the most VITAL things I should have learned), which led me to not have an interest in it. Later on, in my life I did muster an interest and a God-given love for Colombia because at one point I was pretty bitter or racist towards the culture and people for no logical reason.

When I met my wife, my Spanish impressed her but not perfect. I loved Colombia so much that…

--

--

Daniel Sadowski-Tello
Mercury Press

Follower of Jesus who loves his wife and strives to provide nothing less than thought compelling and emotionally stirring content.