Of The Water

Finding myself drawn to a lake while driving the Great River Road in Louisiana was only one of many strange happenings…

Taralei Griffin
Meridian Creators

--

Layla & I on the shore of Lake Pontchartrain in Louisiana — May 1st, 2019

About an hour past Baton Rouge, the interstate turned into a large trestle bridge with choppy, grey water stretching out endlessly to each side. Mist hovered in patches, giving the broken pilings of former bridges an eerie menace. Strangely, I found myself wanting to wade into this vast emptiness and simply let myself float.

My only prior knowledge of this place was hearing it mentioned in relation to flooding caused by hurricanes, and listening to Ludo’s song “Lake Pontchartrain” as a high schooler.

I felt as though I were crossing a drowned wasteland, yet I was instantly in love with the haunting beauty of this endless expanse of water known as Lake Pontchartrain.

The southern end of Lake Pontchartrain as seen from Twin Span Bridges, a 6 mile long causeway

As I left the causeway and continued into New Orleans, I became agitated. Layla sat up in the seat next to me and placed a paw on my knee as I drove, sensing my distress.

None of the riverfront parks I had looked up ahead of time had space for parking, and the one that did had been shut down for…

--

--