Safe Apps

Meron Derseh
Meron_D3r53h
Published in
2 min readApr 15, 2019

Extra Credit

Safe Apps

Photo by Micah Williams on Unsplash

The apps that I choose to use are Orbot, Signal and DuckDuckgo. Orbot is a proxy app, it’s all about privacy and searching the net without being tracked. It allows not only for private internet surfing but also for private texting. On top of that it is a free software that allows for great privacy and can also be used on other apps on the phone. Out of the 3 apps that I choose it is my favorite. My second favorite is DuckDuckgo, when we talked about it in class I thought it would be really slow and take too much time, but it actually is not bad. It allows you to delete all the data you have collected right after you finish searching, it also reminds or asks if you want to delete data constantly. According to their privacy policy they do not store personal information, store cookies that follows to other apps/ websites which means no adds and they do not track the user. Signal is a chatting app that allows you to speak to your friends in a private and safe environment. The app is end to end encrypted so even the company can not access the chat information. In order to use the app you have to create an account using your phone number. My favorite part of their privacy policy is harm to signal, it states “you must not (a) gain or try to gain unauthorized access to our Services or systems; (b) disrupt the integrity or performance of our Services; © create accounts for our Services through unauthorized or automated means; (d) collect information about our users in any unauthorized manner; or (e) sell, rent, or charge for our Services”. After reading through this I realized that they are very serious about how people access and use the app so I felt that my information would constantly be safe, not only from the company but from external forces trying to steal data. I think that the app I am most likely to keep or use constantly is Orbot. It is difficult to ask friends to get a Signal account just to talk so I will probably not be a constant user of the app, ot I might just use it with some friends.

--

--