Publicists, Please Stop Asking Bloggers to Write for Free

Lauren Modery
The Message

--

What if the tables were turned?

From: Blogger
To: Publicist
Date: Monday, August 10th, 2015 at 9:34 AM
Re: I love your work!

Hi, Publicist!

I hope this email finds you well.

I’m a big fan of [your PR business name here]. I think your style is fresh and unique, and I just loved your recent press release about the company that makes chocolate-covered underwear.

I wanted to reach out because I have something I think you’ll really be interested in: me! Would you be interested in representing me for free? I’m a really unique, innovative writer, and I’d love to hear your take on me. I’m reaching out to different publicists, and I’ll be sharing the best press releases on my social media channels. Let me know if you’d like to schedule a time for me to be interviewed; I’m happy to set it up! I can send along high-res photos and other assets. Please let me know if you have any questions. Thank you in advance!

Best,
Blogger

From: Blogger
To: Publicist
Date: Monday, August 17th, 2015 at 10:29 AM
Re: Re: I love your work!

Publicist,

I hope you had a rad weekend!

Sorry to bother you. Just wanted to check back to see if you were interested in representing me for zero compensation.

Here are some press angles you can consider:

  • I really enjoy writing about Jeff Goldblum.
  • I was really good at long jumping in high school.
  • I like many kinds of soup.

I can make myself available for an interview this week. I look forward to hearing from you!

Blogger

P.S. I just started following you on Twitter!

From: Blogger
To: Publicist
Date: Tuesday, August 25th, 2015 at 4:05 PM
Re: Re: Re: I love your work!

Don’t mean to stalk, but I’m just circling back. Lemme know if you need infographics of my face.

Hope you had a nice week!

P.S. I just started following you on LinkedIn! :)

From: Blogger
To: Publicist
Date: Friday, August 28th, 2015 at 3:25 PM

Publicist,

Thank you for your response, and thank you for clearing things up.

My apologies. I didn’t realize that you didn’t work for no compensation whatsoever. Truthfully, I thought that your publicity firm was just a hobby. My social media following of 9,000 followers isn’t enough to entice you? I can pay in exposure!

B

From: Blogger
To: Publicist
Date: Wednesday, September 2nd, 2015 at 11:37 AM
Re: Re: Re: Re: I love your work!

I understand that exposure doesn’t pay the mortgage or feed tiny child mouths, but I have a tight budget here. Lemme see what I can come back with…

B

From: Blogger
To: Publicist
Date: Friday, September 4th, 2015 at 9:33 AM
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: I love your work!

I just spoke with myself, and it looks like I can do a $25 flat payment. Will that work for you?

From: Blogger
To: Publicist
Date: Monday, September 7th, 2015 at 10:13 AM
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: I love your work!

I sound like a turd?

Well, do me a favor and take this message back to your people:

STOP EMAILING BLOGGERS ASKING THEM TO WRITE ABOUT YOUR CLIENTS FOR FREE. WHEN YOU DO THIS, YOU ARE BEING DISRESPECTFUL. WE ALL HAVE MORTGAGES AND TINY CHILD MOUTHS TO FEED.

AT LEAST SEND US THE DAMN PRODUCT YOU WANT US TO WRITE ABOUT- IF WE WANT TO WRITE ABOUT IT.

BUT TRUTHFULLY, MOST OF US DON’T WANT TO WRITE ABOUT YOUR DAMN CRAP. OUR BLOGS ARE OUR PERSONAL SPACE TO WRITE ABOUT OUR EXPERIENCES- NOT DIAPERS, POP BANDS, SEX TOYS OR ENERGY DRINKS.

DON’T BE TURDY.

All the love in the whole friggin’ world,

Blogger

Update: Please read my follow-up essay.

Inspired by actual emails I’ve received from publicists.

Publicists, please think before you send.

If you liked, please consider a little ❤. If you didn’t like, let’s grab a beer sometime.

--

--

Lauren Modery
The Message

Freelance writer; film Loves Her Gun premiered @ SXSW ‘13; used to be a Hollywood assistant; rail enthusiast; check out my dumb blog, hipstercrite.com