To Soften Takes Strength: A Power Yoga Theme

Yogalee Love
Messages from the Mat
2 min readMay 9, 2024
Photo by Szabo Viktor on Unsplash

Walk Slowly by Danna Faulds
It only takes a reminder to breathe,
a moment to be still, and just like that,
something in me settles, softens, makes
space for imperfection. The harsh voice
of judgment drops to a whisper and I
remember again that life isn’t a relay
race; that we will all cross the finish
line; that waking up to life is what we
were born for. As many times as I
forget, catch myself charging forward
without even knowing where I’m going,
that many times I can make the choice
to stop, to breathe, and be, and walk
slowly into the mystery.

Physical Focus is to breathe & soften in our poses. Softening requires even more strength than when we lock out our knees and tense up our shoulders. When we take a deep breath and then soften everything into the pose, we engage our large muscles more instead of putting the work into our joints.

Stop pushing and forcing and learn to soften.

The invitation today is to let go of rigidity in your patterns.

Today and every time you step onto the mat you have an opportunity to really begin to create an experience that feels good for your body.

Cue
Softening of shoulders away from ears, softening knees and elbows in poses.

Waterfall — Personal
It only takes a reminder to breathe,
a moment to be still, and just like that,
something in me settles, softens, makes
space for imperfection.

To soften takes strength.

It takes strength on the mat and in life and we can practice that here so we can do it better in life.

It is hard for me to soften when I really want to be right. It is hard for me to soften when I get really worked up about something or things are tense. To soften my view of the situation in front of me — to see all sides. To experience a situation as someone else might be experiencing it. But when I am able to do this, it opens me up to a whole new level of connection.

Savasana:
Soften your body and melt into the mat. Letting go of any control of your breath. Soften the place between your eyes, soften your jaw and tongue. Relax your fingers and toes.

--

--