To My Younger Self: Things Are Hard Right Now, but They’ll Make You Into a Better Person

Without my struggles, I wouldn’t be who I am

Ashley Broadwater
Messy Mind

--

A photo taken of Ashley as a baby, smiling, with a sticker that says “Cute… but dangerous!” #babypicture #scrapbook
Photo owned by Ashley Broadwater (author)

What would you say to your younger self if you had the chance?

This question and prompt has become so common that it’s almost cliché. Additionally, this question can negate the positive outcomes of our struggles.

I’m all about being empathetic toward my younger self. I’d love to save her from a lot of the pain she felt as she struggled with relationship problems, anxiety, depression and body image. I’d do anything so she didn’t have to suffer from all the tears, insecurities and concerns.

I would tell her she would find people who love her as deeply as she wants to be loved, that that level of love isn’t impossible. I would tell her what the scale says doesn’t matter. I would tell her she’ll pass that class, get into a good college and find her career path. I would tell her that her grief will lessen over time and that she’s worthy even when she’s not working.

But, while my past self could have benefited from all that kindness and reassurance, one fact remains:

If I gave my younger self insight, I wouldn’t be who I am today.

--

--

Ashley Broadwater
Messy Mind

Freelance writer on multiple platforms. On Medium: writing tips + relationships. UNC-CH Journalism + Media. Newsletter + more: www.linktr.ee/ashleybroadwater