3 Tools Towards a More Positive Mind

Mindset Shift

Kick-starting the Cure You Already Have

Cameo Contreras
Messy Mind
Published in
6 min readJul 22, 2019

--

Photo by Marcus Bellamy on Unsplash

When I celebrated my 40th birthday recently I thought about the last year of my life. I had both come so far while simultaneously being as stagnant as I’d ever been. Growth and decline were cohabiting in me. I had approached this milestone recognizing I needed to make so many changes, and none would be easy. I’m grateful I did. My future’s looking like I’ll be needing shades…

For too long, I had been unhappy with my life in general and frustrated with my lack of progress. I knew the only way to remedy this was to take stock of some of the more challenging aspects of my life. Both past and present events required I ask hard and uncomfortable questions. How had I gotten there? Why had I set out this way in the first place, and what were the consequences? Were they good or bad? I would continue this process of asking and answering until I had insight into how to change things for the better and get me on track to fulfilling my full potential.

I’ve had my fair share of illness since childhood — Meningitis at birth, asthma, allergies; the gamut. This continued well into adulthood and my marriage. By the time my twin boys were a year old, the honeymoon was long over, and my health had declined significantly. I wasn’t just…

--

--

Cameo Contreras
Messy Mind

Unapologetic lover of Christ. Mother, writer, and friend. I write what I know.