The Lonely Anxiety of the First Trimester

How, after five pregnancies, I’ve learned to cope with the unknown

Nikki Kay
Messy Mind

--

Photo by niklas_hamann on Unsplash

12 weeks into my fifth pregnancy, my doctor asked me how I was coping emotionally. It was the first time I’d heard that question. Ever.

Nine years ago, when I learned I was pregnant with my oldest daughter, the first thing I did was buy and promptly devour a copy of What to Expect When You’re Expecting. I talked at every opportunity with two family members who were just a few months ahead of me, hungry for any breadcrumbs that would lead me further down the path toward the birth of my little nugget.

I downloaded the What to Expect app and joined various pregnancy forums, message boards, and social media groups. Members, united only by our hope for healthy pregnancies that would lead to happy, healthy babies, would discuss our bloating and constipation, our round ligament pain and cravings, our nausea and heightened (or nonexistent) sex drives.

With all these access points, I felt well-equipped to get through the physical changes the next nine months would bring.

What was never meaningfully discussed, though, in any of those books or groups or apps or conversations, was the toll that anxiety takes on the pregnant woman’s mind in the weeks and months between the…

--

--

Nikki Kay
Messy Mind

Words everywhere. Fiction, poetry, personal essays about parenting, mental health, and the intersection of the two. messymind.substack.com