Human Serpent / Isolert — Everything Dies

Jesse Britten
Metal Scribes
Published in
Oct 18, 2020

This single track is epic and drenched in a low-fi atmosphere. It clocks in at over 20 mins. I can honestly say this isn’t a flowery symphonic black metal outing. This was just a joke/jab at symphonic metal. I feel like all styles have their own aesthetic.

The screams aren’t deep and brutal. They are sorrowful and somehow frustrating sounding and angry. They sound like someone crying out in great pain. I’ve always been a fan of music that’s hard to listen to and this is no exception. The whole thing sounds so raw. It harkens back to really great things like Burzum’s Filosofem.

I suppose I’m a sucker for “Cvlt” music like this that sounds a little underproduced. The sound itself has a lot of character. It’s like someone crying out lonely and in pain both physical and mental. I recommend this one but only if you’re ok with low-fi unpolished, and more raw sounds. This really isn’t for you if you need everything to be tight and clear.

As for myself, I love it. Isolert has a new album out soon. So you can look forward to my opinion on that next month. This is 20 minutes of atmospheric black metal. It’s part of the Isolert discography on Bandcamp. You can pick up a ton of black metal that way though most albums in the bundle aren’t full studio albums.

As I said, I like it, but I don’t think it’s for everyone. I would give it pretty high marks if I believed in that kind of thing.

Image retrieved from (Everything Dies, 2017) on bandcamp.com

--

--

Jesse Britten
Metal Scribes

I’m Jesse, an all around geek from Texas. I like to dabble with a bit of everything. Articles will be about music, games, and mental health.