Develop Education Apps with Metaverse

GoMeta Inc
MetaverseApp
Published in
2 min readDec 13, 2018

Words by: Neil Carmona-Vickery, Deputy Director of Monash Tech School

At the Monash Tech School, we were in a real bind trying to find a way to make an app for the programs we offer. Just as we were considering hiring an app developer, we discovered Metaverse. After hearing about it on Twitter, I had to check it out for myself, and I quickly knew that I’d found what I’d been looking for.

The first time I hopped into the app, I was amazed at how easy it was to create my own scenes, and was happy to see that I could add our own digital content. The team here got really excited that we could essentially author our own app, and have it immediately appear on our phones without app developers being in the middle. My main attraction to the app was how it allowed us to scaffold the student learning experiences, and still let them work at their own pace. It brought together a range of online resources that might otherwise have required a teacher to lead students through.

We’ve had great success with using Metaverse within our programs, notably with our special needs students, who have really taken to both using the app and creating their own experiences. The app is only made better by the teaching community that has emerged around it on Facebook, as well as how responsive the developers are to queries — despite being on the opposite side of the world from us!

I’ve been recommending the app to teachers at our partner schools, and will definitely continue using it in our programs in the future.

--

--