Teacher Spotlight: Interactive Review Games with Metaverse

GoMeta Inc
MetaverseApp
Published in
3 min readDec 12, 2017

Words by: Dan Koslakiewicz. Science teacher. Greendale, Wisconsin @DanKos3

I have been using augmented reality in my classroom for many years and for many purposes. The app I had used was simplistic enough, but creating the experiences was time-consuming and technical. Even when I managed to find the time to make an experience, it wasn’t very compelling or interactive. Still, I tried to make it work as best as I could. I wanted something better, something that easier to use and deploy in the classroom. Recently, I discovered Metaverse. It was exactly what I was looking for. With the help of short, straightforward tutorial videos and the user-friendly studio interface, creating experiences for my students was suddenly much easier, faster, and more interactive than in the past.

Since it is now so easy to make learning games, complete with leaderboards, I have began making interactive review games for each of my lessons. Students always want to play a game, but rarely is everyone ready to use or review the content at the same time. Some students need a little more time than others. By creating a review game that is accessible anytime, from any location, all students have a chance to be successful at their own pace and in their own way. What’s nice about creating augmented reality experiences in Metaverse is the ability to create very short (one or two word) responses, picture questions, or multiple-choice questions. With short responses, it is even possible to accept multiple variations of answers. For example, in my first attempt at using this for review, I created an experience testing knowledge of neurons, and asked a question about sensory neurons. Some students typed “afferent neuron” instead of “sensory neuron,” which is also a correct answer, and the game was able to detect either answer as being correct. By using simple “If this, then that” logic, the experience was able to check the students’ written answers. Whether it is a long review or a short exit slip activity, the students enjoy it more when it’s in Metaverse.

Another way I have used Metaverse is by embedding video test questions into the experiences. These are simple to make. Before Metaverse, I would demonstrate a lab in front of the entire class and later have them answer questions about it on their tests. Inevitably, a student would not be paying attention and miss the demonstration. Now I can pre-record my demonstrations, upload them to YouTube, and make a quick Metaverse experience for students. Each experience has a QR code that I print out for students, and they can open the video and watch it as much as they need to in order to successfully answer questions.

I have also been creating unit preview activities in the style of “Choose Your Own Adventure” games. These take a bit more time, as creating the loops becomes trickier. However, it gives the students a chance to take their own route based on their interests and, using strategically placed questions, it forces students to go back and review content or pass through content they already understand. I have many more ideas for Metaverse. I just with I more time to use it.

If you would like to be a featured teacher, please email: jonathan@gometa.io

--

--