From Eugene to Europe

On an athlete’s life after the trials

Matthew Sonnenfeldt
METER Magazine
4 min readJun 17, 2016

--

In the preface to a series of blogs from the Europe, Matthew Sonnenfeldt describes the role of sports agencies and the journey from Olympic Trials to the European track circuit

THE OLYMPIC TRIALS.

Every four years, US athletes from all walks of life flock to the Olympic Trials for their chance to call themselves an Olympian. For most, just making it to that July start line will be the pinnacle of their athletic careers, but for a select few it’s a pit stop on the road to the glory.

To the outside world the sport of track and field exists only at the Olympics— the two are woven together like two pieces of fabric. And if you can call yourself a professional runner, the public reasonably assumes you really mean Olympian. As my good friend (and former North Carolina State teammate), Ryan Hill put it in a recent Sports Illustrated article, “In the world of professional Track and Field, you’re either an Olympian or you’re not.” Most athletes and fans know the truth of this statement — but what if you’re not an Olympian?

For most athletes the world doesn’t end at the Olympic Trials. Some are happy just to have been there. For others there is a cloud of disappointment. But for most, there is a middle ground between. But for all, there is life after the Olympic Trials.

That is the point where I come in.

I am the Marketing Assistant and Promotions Coordinator at Flynn Sports Management (FSM), a small, but well-known track and field sports agency based in Johnson City, Tennessee. This long title I gave myself basically means I’m a worker bee, a minor but necessary cog in the machine of a company that manages many of today’s track and field and road racing stars. To put it generously, I’m pretty much the Mano Ginobli of FSM.

Once the Olympic Trials are out of the way, the biggest part of my job is handling the logistics that go into our athletes’ European seasons.

THE EUROPEAN CIRCUIT

Europe is not as glorious for the athletes who don’t get to compete in Diamond League meets, and you definitely don’t go to Europe for the money. In fact, in some cases you lose money. The reason you go to Europe is for the chase, for redemption, and sometimes, just because you’ve never been before.

The European circuit has that allure.

I work closely with our athletes and coaches to make sure they are taken care of through their European escapade, whether it be getting the athletes into races or handling the logistics of travel and accommodation. None of this happens, of course, without the help of a larger team, my colleagues Susan Judy, Brad Yewer, and owner/founder Ray Flynn. These people are the meat and potatoes of the business. I’m just the side dish. The salad.

I’ve always wanted to share this experience with others. Many people before me have documented the European Circuit and many more will after me, but if I can somehow depict the social dichotomy of the circuit without sounding pretentious, I will call it a success. Over the coming months, I will take you through a typical travel day, what happens between the races, and take you through the hustle and into the Mecca of the summer racing scene, all while trying to explain the cultural experience that is the European track circuit.

Stay tuned for more.

Matt

--

--