Lessons from László Tábori

Five things we can learn from the third man to break 4 minutes for the Mile

Bring Back the Mile
METER Magazine
4 min readMay 5, 2016

--

When we interviewed László Tábori for Issue #04 of METER magazine, we sat down with him for more than two hours. Beyond his life story — of how he came to be the third man to break 4 minutes for the Mile, how he defected from Hungary to the USA and how he went on to coach world record holders and Boston Marathon winners — we got a fantastic insight into his philosophy on coaching, racing and life.

If you’ve ever competed, these five principles will make you a better runner.

#1 Anger is an energy

László: My second race was in the next town over and it was about 2K. With about half a kilometer to go, two guys behind and they clipped me. I took a dive and rolled over into the dust and mud. I was so upset that I got up saying bad words, like a little guy, and began to chase those two guys. I beat them. After that everything went smoothly.

All photos courtesy of László Tábori.

#2 The best coaches know when to adapt

László: Coach Igloi wasn’t as bad as people think; they don’t know. He was the first on the track and last on the track to leave. What he did during that time was watching you and if he did not like the motion and rhythm, he called you over and let you know what you’re not doing. I’ll change your workout and you do this now. People mistake Igloi’s system for being difficult. He wants quick movement. He can tell you to do a workout, like 250 meter intervals, but if he doesn’t like your rhythm he’d call you over to rest a bit and then just do 150 meter with a quicker rhythm. You can do things more quickly on the shorter distances than the longer distances. That’s the secret. To know when to change the race in training.

#3 Track friends will last a lifetime

László: The hardest part (of moving to the U.S.) was not speaking the language. I spoke a couple of languages, but none of them were English. In the late 1950s I competed on the east coast in the indoor races. Jim Beatty [first man sub-4 indoors] and a couple of other guys from the University of North Carolina, we were all training together. Igloi gave me the workout and I told Jim the best way I could what the workout was.

One time I asked Jim, ‘what did you major in college?’ And he said English. He showed me a couple of times how to speak, say the words. Jim and I are still very, very close. At least two or three times a year we still talk. He has a problem with my name though. He wants to call me Latzi, but because in English the “c” has a different sound, he pronounces it Laci (laughs).

#4 Speed is the foundation of fast running

László: The 10,000 meters is six times longer than the 1500 meter. If somebody runs a marathon race it is only four times longer than a 10K. I figured if Iharos transitioned from a 1500 to 5000 to 10,000 meters with the interval work, it will work. I tried it first with guys like Dave Babiracki. He ran a 4:00.2 Mile! I set him up and said, ‘David you are ready to go under 4 minute Mile’. His time was 4:00.02. I was so mad at him I said ‘David how could you do that?’ (laughs). I was yelling at him and screaming. That started the marathon. I said ‘you go over there and you run a marathon’. He ran 2:15 something.

#5 The Mile is the distance

László: The Mile is the distance. When I was the third guy to break the 4 minute Mile it gave me more publicity than any other world record. I had another five world records to my name, but five world records didn’t give me much publicity as that one Mile in 1955.

I think the people who don’t like the Mile, don’t know what they are talking about — the Mile should be the event! We should just keep it to get the publicity. The publicity and the people giving me a smile when I say I ran under a 4 minute Mile, you don’t have enough money to pay for it. I really urge people to Bring Back the Mile.

Meter takes a long form look at the hidden side of running culture and at the athletes, heritage and events that continue to make running the greatest sport in the world. Subscribe to the print magazine at Tracksmith.com. Issue #04 is out now.

--

--