New Additions to MettaStoic

Matt Fay
MettaStoic
Published in
2 min readFeb 13, 2019

Today I discovered that Tim Ferriss, author, entrepreneur, investor, and practicing Stoic, has released The Tao of Seneca for free. There are three volumes, all of which can be found on MettaStoic.com. I’ve read through some parts of the first volume, and I’m really enjoying it. The introduction serves a nice guide to reading Seneca, which is great for newcomers.

For example, Tim offers:

“There are many great minds in the Stoic pantheon, including Marcus Aurelius, Epictetus, and Cato. For me, though, Seneca stands out as easy to read, memorable, and surprisingly practical. He covers specifics ranging from handling slander and backstabbing, to fasting, exercise, wealth, and death. His letters read like a Choose-Your-Own-Adventure book for handling the obstacles life deals you.

I suggest you approach this book is the way I approached it: make Seneca part of your daily routine.

Set aside 10–15 minutes a day and read one letter. Whether over coffee in the morning, right before bed, or somewhere in between, digest one letter. Do this for two weeks and it will change you.”

Further, he speaks about the practices he undertakes, and how they derive from reading Seneca:

“The ideas in this book are meant to be applied and this requires practice.

Why do I fast for at least one three-day stretch each month?

Why do I often schedule “suffer camps” of various types, where I might endure cold or eat exclusively rice and beans for 3–10 days?

Why might I wear the same type of black t-shirt for a week straight, along with one pair of jeans, all the while remaining unshaven and asking myself, “Is this the condition that I feared?”

All of the above examples are how I use just one letter — Letter 18, On Festivals and Fasting”

Of course, I agree with him — Seneca is wonderful reading, and I’m really grateful we’re able to host copies of The Tao of Seneca on MettaStoic.

We’ve also compiled The Golden Sayings of Epictetus, translated by Hastings Crossley. This book also contains fragments attributed to Epictetus, and The Hymn of Cleanthes.

Anyway, there’s still a ton of work to be done. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the new additions to the MettaStoic website.

Farewell,

- Matt

--

--