My Journey as an Intern at mewt

Jyoti Prakash Das Karmakar
mewt
3 min readJul 30, 2021

--

Getting hands-on experience through implementation while acquiring knowledge is an integral part of learning. I am a big fan of implementing things that I learn. An Internship is such a platform where we can get those experiences while learning more. There was no compulsion from my college to get an internship but I wanted to get my hand dirty before jumping into the actual corporate world.

So I started finding internships and applying here and there to get an opportunity. On LinkedIn, I got a job alert from an early-stage start-up, mewt. They were looking for a backend developer with a good amount of knowledge in python. Back then, I didn’t have much knowledge about the backend but I had a good experience in python and I wanted to explore that untouched field and gain some experience. So I applied through LinkedIn and kept scrolling for other opportunities as I was not sure whether I would be called or not. After a few days, I got a message to confirm if I am interested in that role. I grabbed the opportunity without wasting any time and an interview was scheduled. It was a brief call and I was asked about some of my previous projects mentioned in my resume and was given a task to create a login page using the Django framework. I submitted my assignment and within a day, got a positive response asking to join as soon as possible.

Working with mewt changed my perception to concepts in computer science and boost me in various areas. Self-confidence was one of them. In starting days, I was not that much confident about myself about doing something assigned to me. But mewt helped me to gain knowledge and boost my self-confidence to get a solution to any problem I come across. I worked on various fields in mewt and it was a fun experience of learning something, facing roadblocks while implementing it, and clearing it with help of my mentors and co-workers. I started with extracting data from pdfs, worked on creating various APIs using the Django framework, got a little experience about object detection using deep learning algorithms, and also learned to use AWS. Started as an amateur, I learned so many nitty-gritty things in my whole journey about writing codes, which made me more mature towards developing something.

My nearly 4 months long journey with mewt comes to an end. From being an intern with no backend knowledge to taking up responsibilities, mewt helped me to evolve better. I am grateful to be a part of this family. The regular stand-ups helped me improving my communication skills as well as keeping me up to date with the work of others. We used to discuss everything about ourselves in a friendly manner on those stand-ups which I am going to miss. I want to thank Kushal, Rishabh, Tarun, and all my fellow interns who made my journey so nice here and helped me a lot in technical aspects. I am wishing mewt to flourish in near future and I will be happy to see it. And again, I was not only an intern here, but I was also a part of the mewt family.

--

--