When Data Speaks Klingon and You Speak Emoji

Nava Babaei
MHCI X Princeton Capstone 2024
4 min readFeb 19, 2024

How do you make something as confusing as data and Linux commands simple and easy to understand?

That question is the name of the game for our MHCI Capstone project because this year, we are collaborating with the TigerData team at Princeton University to assist in the creation of a robust, accessible, and sustainable data management system for Princeton researchers and external collaborators.

Definitions

An unexpected side effect of this project has been learning a new language. Here are some terms we have been learning to better understand the domain of data management and hardware.

Cluster - A collection of server units used for data management

🗂️ Metadata — Data… that describes other data… like a label value pair

🎪 FAIR principles — Findable, accessible, interoperable, and reusable; the guiding principles for data management

More to come soon! For now, let’s meet the team👇🏽

The Tartan Tigers 🧣🐯

The team!

Nava Babaei

I am a recent UC Davis grad where I studied Computational Cognitive Science and Computer Science (Go Ags!). Passionate about innovative technologies and human nature, these disciplines were the perfect combination to learn more about the intersection between people and tech, leading me to find UX and HCI. Last summer, I interned at Hewlett Packard Enterprise where I designed a feature for a data management service, so I am excited to see the parallels between my experience and this project. Aside from all that boring stuff, I love cats, bagels, and all things Iranian cuisine! Excited to be working with TigerData at Princeton.

Gaurav Nemade

As an Electronics and Telecommunication Engineer with two years of professional experience in Software Development at TATA Consultancy Services (TCS), I have gained valuable skills in technology and programming. What truly drives my passion is understanding how my work impacts people’s decisions and shapes their perceptions of products and services. Beyond the professional realm, I find joy in watching F1 races and indulging in the art of cooking to create delicious meals. I am thrilled to be working with the Tiger Cluster at Princeton.

Cassie Xu

As a recent graduate with Statistics and Economics degrees from UNC Chapel Hill, I’ve been drawn to the power of data to uncover insights and support decision-making. Pivoting into the HCI realm, I am looking forward to exploring the intersection of data and design and crafting human-centric products that resonate deeply with user needs. Outside of work I’m a huge boba lover, my heart also belongs to Corgi and other fluffy animals. I am so excited to collaborate with my team and our client to build the research computing system together and anticipate the potential impact it could bring.

Rebecca Jiang

I am currently a senior at CMU studying Information Systems & Human Computer Interaction AND a first year Master in HCI — at the same time B) I come from a very interdisciplinary background and am mainly interested in UX design and product design. I am eager and passionate to help make technologies easy to use and accessible to everyone. When I am not working, I devote most of my time to hiphop and kpop dances and am in several dance teams on campus. I also love to listen to music and mess around with my cat >:) Really excited about this project!

Anika Vaishampayan

Coming from a rather unusual background in biomedical research and computational science, I am excited to explore the intersection of research, programming, and design through this collaboration on TigerData. I recently completed my bachelor’s degree in Cognitive Science and Computer Science at UCLA, where I worked intensively on a project related to virtual experimental design. It was through this experience that I gained an appreciation for visual and interaction design, as well as technical skills in front-end development. Aside from work, I love adding more books to my “need-to-read” list than I can possibly read in this lifetime, baking, dancing, and playing fetch with my sweet pup, Mylo.

The First Steps 🐾

On the first pass through our project brief, we were silent. On the second pass, we had a million and one questions. We took note of the unfamiliar terms and laid out the first curiosities we wanted to tackle, like:

  • Who are the primary stakeholders?
  • What type of data do they interact with?
  • How does TigerData serve them?

We eventually got a hold of project documentation that the Princeton team had created. It felt like we struck gold! Analyzing and synthesizing their work, we wanted to extract as much information as possible to answer the questions we had. Knowing that data clusters are standard across most universities, we got in touch with professors and researchers here at Carnegie Mellon University to get our first glimpse at the nuances of similar cluster systems to TigerData.

Being in the beginning stages of our project, it often feels chaotic and confusing as we were thrown head first into the ether of data clusters. Nevertheless, we are aiming to embrace the experience of the first divergence of the design process.

With the kickoff meeting approaching, we have been focused on designing engaging activities that will bring us beyond our understanding of the problem space so far. Soon we will be in flight on the way to Princeton, New Jersey. ✈️

Disconnecting for now, until our next sync!

This project is not intended to contribute to generalizable knowledge and is not human subjects research.

--

--