Who am I and why am I writing?

Nestor Hugo Solari
Mi Gente
Published in
2 min readFeb 9, 2018

This is just a short blurb about me, and why I decided to write. Nothing earth-shattering (or remotely interesting) here, just a post for readers to reference in case they are curious.

I recently started a tech-enabled insurance brokerage called Sigo Seguros, with the plan to make the insurance purchasing process easier and more transparent for Hispanic Americans. I am also pursuing a dual degree at the University of Pennsylvania. I hope to graduate in May of 2019 with my MBA from the Wharton School, and a Masters in International Studies from the Lauder Institute. Previously, I worked in finance for almost seven years in New York and Chicago, after completing my undergraduate studies at the Pennsylvania State University.

Over the last few years I have spent a lot of my free time volunteering with organizations like Sponsors for Educational Opportunity and America Needs You, and am currently Chairperson of Global Youth Connect, where I have been fortunate to serve on the board of for over four years. I am actively trying to be vegan, which is going well 90% of the time, but may seem like sacrilege to fellow Uruguayans. I aspire to run a marathon within the next 24 months. I care about social issues, the environment, and hope to make the world a slightly better place.

I was born and raised in northern New Jersey, to two wonderful, hardworking, and loving Uruguayan immigrant parents. As a first-generation Hispanic American, I am increasingly interested in the issues affecting my community. As a business student, I am increasingly interested with how companies and brands interact with Hispanic Americans. I hope this blog can provide some insight into both of these topics.

--

--