10 Rappers I Want To See On XXL 2019!

Avery Price
Mic Drop
Published in
7 min readApr 4, 2019

XXL 2019 is coming soon! The voting poll for the 10th spot is up and we can now see who is in the running for XXL this year. As of every year, there are many names missing and some people are confused. I will be making a separate article about that. This is not a prediction list. Keep that in mind. This is who I want to be on XXL. Let’s get into the 10 Rappers I Want To See On XXL 2019!

(These rappers are in ABC order, not in order of how I like them.)

Boogie

Boogie- Now I have been following Boogie for some time now. I came across his song ‘Self Destruction’ and really enjoyed it. He dropped a project January 25th named ‘Everything’s For Sale’. I loved the album so much! So many songs got added to my playlist and the features on the album such as JID, Eminem and, 6lack all are amazing. Eminem signed Boogie to Shady Records and I’m hoping for more collabs between the two in the future.

Favorite song: ‘Soho’ Feat. JID

Comethazine

Comethazine- Comethazine also just recently dropped an album. The album was fire! Every song made my playlist but my 2 favorite songs were ONMYGRANNYKIDS and NONSENSE. His flow on NONSENSE was amazing and this song would be my favorite song of the year if it was longer. He also just released a remix with A$AP Rocky for his song ‘Walk’. Comethazine added the 2nd verse to the remix and that 2nd verse was easily my favorite verse of the year.

Favorite song: ‘Walk’ (Remix) Feat. A$AP Rocky

Don Toliver

Don Toliver- Don Toliver is most likely the least known or 2nd to the least known rapper on my list. I hadn’t heard of him before the ‘Astroworld’ album by Travis Scott. But even when that album came out at first I didn’t know him. Travis Scott didn’t have features listened and ‘CAN’T SAY’ was my 2nd favorite song on the album. But for the longest time, I thought that Don Toliver was Young Thug. I felt so slow when I found out that it wasn’t Young Thug but thankfully it wasn’t because I found an amazing artist in Don Toliver!

Favorite song: ‘CAN’T SAY’ Feat. Travis Scott

Juice Wrld

Juice Wrld- This goes without saying. Juice Wrld deserves this spot over everybody although he doesn’t need it all. He dropped the greatest album of 2019 so far and will probably go down as the greatest album of the year. I love every song but one song and that is ‘Syphilis’. Juice Wrld is an amazing artist and we’ll go down to be one of my favorites of all time. I can’t wait to see his freestyle it is definitely going to be the best one out of all of them.

Favorite song: Way too many great ones!

Kid Trunks

Kid Trunks- Now I’ve known about Kid Trunks for a while now. I heard about him through XXXTentacion and their group ‘Members Only’. The new album ‘Members Only Vol. 4’ was amazing and could potentially be better than Juice Wrld’s album. Kid Trunks solo song that he had on the album ‘Woah (Freestyle)’ was very good and his other parts on the other songs of the album we’re all so great. He deserves to be an XXL 2019 Freshman because as he always says, He is the best Asian rapper in the game. Sorry, Rich Brian.

Favorite song: ‘Woah (Freestyle)’

Lil Mosey

Lil Mosey- If I’m not mistaken and if he does make the list I’m pretty sure he will be the youngest XXL Freshman of all time. Lil Mosey just recently turned 17 and he is already blowing up! Right now I am listening to his song ‘Greet Her’ every day. It is a remix to Chris Brown’s song ‘Yo (Excuse Me Miss)’ and it is amazing. Lil Mosey’s vocals are something else. Lil Mosey is the entire reason that Pineapple Fanta is my favorite drink. I saw it in one of his music videos and now I drink them every day. I would love to see him on the cover.

Favorite song: ‘Kamikaze’

Mir Fontane

Mir Fontane- I found out about Mir Fontane a little bit ago when I heard his song called ‘Frank Ocean’. I actually forgot all about him and when the XXL Pitch’s started to release I saw his name and immediately started listening to ‘Frank Ocean’ again. I also found out about a couple of other songs such as ‘Bodega’ and ‘Real Life Lit’. He really puts so much thought into every song. If you haven’t heard of him which I’m sure you haven’t you need to look him up right now and listen to ‘Frank Ocean’ and ‘Bodega’.

Favorite song: ‘Bodega’ and ‘Frank Ocean’

Polo G

Polo G- My first time hearing about Polo G I pushed him off to the side and didn’t give his music a chance. I thought his music was just another trap rapper that talked about killing people and honestly it is. But he adds melodies to it and actually sounds amazing. His songs ‘Finer Things’, ‘Pop Out’ and, ‘Gang With Me’ are all in my playlist. I would be devastated if he didn’t make the cover. This young gun has some talent and will go far in the rap game!

Favorite song: ‘Finer Things’

Roddy Ricch

Roddy Ricch- Roddy Ricch was just like Polo G, I thought he was just another gun spitting trap rapper. My brother played his song ‘Die Young’ in the car one time and when I got home I checked out his music. I now listen to about a million Roddy Ricch songs. His song with the Legend Nipsey Hussle ‘Racks In The Middle’ is so amazing. Roddy killed the hook and Nipsey killed the verses. R.I.P. the G.O.A.T. Nipsey Hussle!

Favorite song: ‘Die Young’

YBN Cordae

YBN Cordae- Last but not least we have YBN Cordae. Now every year XXL only picks one lyrical rapper. Which I think is the stupidest thing ever, Lyrical rap is way better than this mumble crap but if XXL wants to be like that then fine. I picked 2 lyrical guys this year hoping that they change and pick both of them. When Cordae first came out I loved his music. His remix to Eminem’s ‘My Name Is’ was amazing and every line had an amazing bar. Since then lyrically he has fallen off but his music is still very enjoyable!

Favorite song: ‘Pain Away’ Feat. YBN Nahmir

Cypher 1:

Boogie

Juice Wrld

YBN Cordae

My picks for the first Cypher are the lyrical guys. Last year we saw J.I.D and Ski Mask in the same cypher and they were the lyrical ones. Boogie is extremely lyrical and sounds nothing like a mumble rapper. In his song with Eminem ‘Rainy Days’ he spits so many bars. Juice Wrld is known for being very melodic but shows signs of lyrical rap all the time. His newest album ‘Death Race For Love’ he raps lyrically in almost every song. YBN Cordae could honestly fit in all 3 of these Cyphers but I chose this one because he’s known for being the lyrical YBN member. His remix to Eminem’s ‘My Name Is’ features some of my favorite bars of all time.

Cypher 2:

Comethazine

Polo G

Roddy Ricch

Kid Trunks

My picks for this Cypher are the trap rappers. Comethazine has never worked with any of these artists but I think he would fit very well. If he used his screaming flow it probably wouldn’t sound too good but he has trap rapping flows that would fit perfectly. Polo G sings a lot of his songs and he could definitely fit into the 3rd Cypher but I put him in here because the 3rd Cypher are singer melody guys but not trap singing. In 2014 August Alsina made a chorus for the Cypher and sung it in between everyone’s verse. I think Polo G should do that for this Cypher. Roddy Ricch is next and there isn’t much to say, He fits with Polo G very well. Roddy could definitely hop on this Cypher and spit a verse as he did on ‘Every Season’. Kid Trunks is the last one, I had no clue which Cypher to put him in. He doesn’t really fit with anyone on the list, he doesn’t sound like anyone else or anything like that. But I put him in this Cypher because most of his songs are about killing and guns.

Cypher 3:

Don Toliver

Lil Mosey

Mir Fontane

Honestly, I don’t have to say much about these 3. They all sing in all of there songs and they would sound amazing together. As much as I want to put Juice Wrld in here with them. I’m not going to because I feel like Juice Wrld is actually going to rap and not sing in his Cypher.

--

--

Avery Price
Mic Drop

I'm a 16 year old with a passion for writing. But not just writing about anything, I love watching sports like Basketball and Football. Plus Rap!