Comparing my view on 2017 XXL Freestyles from 9 Months ago to now!

Avery Price
Mic Drop
Published in
2 min readMar 21, 2018

The XXL Freshman List is something that us rap fans look forward to every year. Seeing are favorite young and up and coming artists freestyle and rap on beats with other young rappers is awesome. But we see very often that the artists we love can’t freestyle. Here is my list from 9 months ago after all the freestyles were complete.

10. Playboi Carti

9. Kap G

8. MadeInTYO

7. A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie

6. PnB Rock

5. Kamaiyah

T3. XXXTentacion

T3. Amine

2. KYLE

1. Ugly God

Here is my list from now, looking back and relistening to the freestyles.

10. Playboi Carti

9. Madeintyo

8. A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie

7. PnB Rock

6. KYLE

5. Kap G

4. Kamaiyah

3. XXXTentacion

2. Amine

1. Ugly God

I didn’t see any big changes but the one that changed the biggest in my eyes was Kap G. The first 20 seconds of his freestyle he was very repetitive so they gave me a bad vibe for the rest of the freestyle. After listening again 9 months later I realize he was actually spitting bars and I over exaggerated.

One I found that got worse on my list was KYLE’s. When I first listened I said to myself that he could actually turn this into song. I felt like his bars had a cool meaning and I just felt a great way with this listen. But now listening to it, It felt corny and that he didn’t a certain topic and was just randomly saying stuff.

Thank You For Reading and hope you enjoy!

--

--

Avery Price
Mic Drop

I'm a 16 year old with a passion for writing. But not just writing about anything, I love watching sports like Basketball and Football. Plus Rap!