Dmar Tk ‘Trench Work’ Album Review!

Avery Price
Mic Drop
Published in
4 min readAug 13, 2019

Dmar Tk is a local rapper from Springfield Ohio the same city that I live in. Although me and Dmar are friends I’m gonna try not to use any type of bias at all towards his music. If I think one of the songs trash I’m going to be straight up about it and tell you guys that is trash. My thoughts on Dmar’s music before listening to the tape is very good. I think his flows and the way he uses his voice is very good. I’m excited for this tape it has been long awaited but it’s finally here and I’m ready to listen. Here is the link to his soundcloud page make sure you listen to all his music!

Artwork is fire!

Now let’s get into the review!

Song #1: Intro- Ft Zeybandz X Bmg Chris

In the first couple lines Dmar comes through with some amazing bars such as “Glock leave him sick like he on a rollercoaster” That line right there is very good. Zeybandz follows up with a very good verse and it sounds like he is talking about a real situation and I love when rappers keep it real. Bmg Chris follows up with another very good verse as he killed it on this slow guitar type beat which I’ve never heard him on a beat like that before but it was really good. The first song was very good in my opinion all 3 rappers killed there parts and did their thing. It was a perfect intro song with the guitar playing for a little bit after all the verses. I love the song it was a great way to start the album.

Rating: 9/10

Song #2: Passion

Passion was a single he released a little bit ago. I have heard it before but I’ll still give you guys my review on the song. The beat drop was perfect! The beat stopped and he started rapping and then it dropped and it sounded amazing. He sounds perfect on this beat. I really like this song it has been on my Soundcloud liked ever since it was released. The hook is super catchy and I could definitely see this song blowing him up!

Rating: 9/10

Song #3: Can’t Stop It — Ft Clutchworth X Dieformalc

First thing that sticks out to me before I hit play is that the song is almost 6 minutes long. Usually I don’t like super long songs like this but if it’s really good the whole way through and I’m going to be very surprised. The song starts off with Clutchworth singing very good and very catchy. This song is easily my favorite so far! I’m not familiar with any of Clutchworth’s music but after hearing this I’m definitely going to dive deeper into his music. He sounds like Kevin Gates a little bit and it’s really good. Dmar’s verse was filled with a ton of bars such as “Ain’t worried bout a b*tch I spin her like a fidget” and also “These cops keep watching us hotspot call me wifi now”. Those 2 bars right now made this verse amazing! With about 30 seconds left in the song we hear Dieformalc come in with some very catchy vocals. An amazing way to end the song! This song is for sure my favorite so far! All 3 artists killed there parts!

Rating: 10/10

Song #4: No Hook- Ft BigKu X ZeyBandz

This song was also a single released before the tape dropped. My taste in music consists of singing rap and lyrical rap so this song didn’t really stand out to me personally. It’s an amazing song but it’s not my cup of tea. The hard hitting beat is very strong and brings a very lit vibe to the song. BigKu killed his part and definitely did his thing on this song! Dmar follows up with a very good verse and ZeyBandz comes next with another very lit verse. In general it was a good song but it’s not the type of rap I preferably listen too. Just because I don’t like the song doesn’t mean its a bad song in general. All 3 artists did there thing and flowed on the beat perfectly.

Rating: 8/10

Song #5: Poison

The song starts off with very catchy vocals from Dmar. I love when artists start the song off catchy because it’s going to make listeners stay and keep listening. That’s exactly what happened with this song. It started off sounding amazing so it made me want to stay and keep listening. This song all together sounded really good and will for sure be one of the most listened to songs off the album. Towards the end when he said “Sit back like why the hell they take my uncle from me, Sit back like if I go broke who gonna be there for me”. That part of the song was fire to me! Sorry to hear about your uncle!

Rating: 10/10

Song #6: Let It Go (Remix)

The Let It Go sample was amazing! Shoutout to the producer! When Dmar started singing over the sample it took this song to another level. This sample would be the last thing I would’ve ever expected Dmar to rap over but it was really good. The flow right around the 1:10 mark was really good and transitioned back into the sample perfectly! The autotuned hook over the sample sounds perfect and the producer definitely deserves a lot of credit for this one. Dmar’s verses are perfect and this song is for sure the best one on the album!

Rating: 10/10

Overall the album was very good. I can’t stress it enough that you guys have to listen to this album. I’ll put a link to the album right here!

--

--

Avery Price
Mic Drop

I'm a 16 year old with a passion for writing. But not just writing about anything, I love watching sports like Basketball and Football. Plus Rap!