My 2020 XXL Thoughts and Predictions!

Avery Price
Mic Drop
Published in
5 min readApr 2, 2020

XXL 2019 was a decent year. It featured a few artists that I still listen to and really enjoy their music today such as Comethazine, DaBaby, Roddy Ricch, YBN Cordae and Rico Nasty. Looking at the 10th spot voting page I think the 2020 class can be better than the 2019 class. I think the cypher’s were very bad and I think if they are going to put an artist on the cover then to make sure that they are going to provide a freestyle and cypher. With that being said let’s take a look into my thoughts and predictions for the 2020 XXL class.

Every year we look at the voting and see artists missing. I know I’m probably missing a bunch but here are the ones I could think of off the top of my head that I didn’t see: YNW BSlime, 070 Shake, Clever, The Kid LAROI, Bhad Bhabie, Skinnyfromthe9, Warhol.ss and, Kid Buu.

If I were the one making the list then these are the 10 artists that I would choose: Don Toliver, Flipp Dinero, Guapdad 4000, Iann Dior, Jack Harlow, Jasiah, Lil Tecca, Lil West, Polo G and, Rod Wave. But unfortunately I’m not the one making the list. XXL is making the list and they like to do things differently than what I want. So these are the 10 artists that I think XXL will put on the cover.

NLE Choppa- I think that NLE Choppa is the leader of this group. Every song he drops is an instant hit and he is very close with XXL.

Lil Tecca- Ever since ‘Ransom’ blew up I knew Lil Tecca was going to be a for sure 2020 XXL Freshman. His 2019 album was filled with bangers and proved that he 100% deserves this spot.

Polo G- Polo G is something special and I actually thought he got snubbed last year. Like Lil Tecca and NLE Choppa I think Polo G is a for sure 2020 XXL Freshman.

Coi Leray- Last year we saw 3 girls make the list. Looking at the voting I am not seeing many girls that have really stood out this year that are in the voting. Coi Leray’s name popped out the most because she has clout from dating Trippie Redd, She was on the Spider-man into the Spider-verse soundtrack and is very close with XXL. I think they will surprise us again with more than 1 girl and I just have no clue who.

Jack Harlow- I’ve been hip to Jack Harlow since his 2017 album ‘Gazebo’. Finally he got a song to blow up in ‘What’s Poppin’ and other people are finally hip. I think because of that hit he has a very good chance of making the cover this year.

Lil Tjay- I think a lot of people had Lil Tjay as a snub last year as well. Him and Polo G are really good friends and made a blow up song together when they both had songs of their own blowing up and that helped so much. I think Lil Tjay has a pretty high chance of making the cover but wouldn’t surprise me if he was left off.

Rod Wave- Rod Wave is definitely one of if not my favorite on this list. This man has amazing talent and I believe he will be the biggest artist out of this class. At only 20 years old he raps and sings about things that a 20 year old man should not have any clue about. If you haven’t sat down and listened to his album ‘Ghetto Gospel’ and actually listened to what he’s saying in it then you have to right now.

Teejayx6- XXL can’t miss out on this opportunity. Teejayx6 is one of the most crazy and intriguing acts we have seen in awhile. His flow is very different from anyone else and he literally only raps about scamming. I think it started off as a meme but now he’s taking it seriously and I think XXL will put him on simply for the clout.

24KGoldn- Now every year there’s a surprise pick, That guy that nobody expected to be on the cover. But with Tik Tok blowing up and becoming a huge thing in 2020. I think they will pick someone who blew up off of Tik Tok. I cut it down to 2 people Baby Keem and 24KGoldn and ended up going with 24KGoldn. His song ‘Valentino’ is really big and I think they’ll put him on the cover.

Iann Dior- Iann Dior’s fanbase is a crazy one and I think he’ll win the 10th spot voting for that reason. I am a part of that fanbase and I LOVE his music. His 2 albums have 0 bad songs on them. I’m very excited to see what he does in the cypher and freestyle.

--

--

Avery Price
Mic Drop

I'm a 16 year old with a passion for writing. But not just writing about anything, I love watching sports like Basketball and Football. Plus Rap!