The World Is Yours By Rich The Kid | Album Review |

Avery Price
Mic Drop
Published in
4 min readMar 30, 2018

Rich The Kid released his first 2018 project on March 30th. With many singles released and multiple posts on social media we knew the project was coming. I have to say I’m not the biggest Rich The Kid fan but New Freezer and Plug Walk are some really good songs. I will grade individual parts of each song with a F, D, C, B or, A, obviously A being the best and F being the worst. Let’s hop straight into this and listen to The World Is Yours!

The World Is Yours
  1. World Is Yours

Beat: D. It’s not that it’s a bad beat but it’s different for Rich and I like when his flow and beats are faster.

Feature: None.

Song Grade: C

2. New Freezer

Beat: A. Obviously this beat is amazing. Nothing else to say. Rich is on flow with it.

Feature: A. Kendrick Lamar surprised a lot of us with this feature and came on it and killed the beat.

Song Grade: A

3. No Question

Beat: A. Any beat that I can instantly nod my head to is a great one.

Feature: B. Not gonna lie, I was geeked but also scared for this feature. The last Future song I listened to I was disappointed with his part but this feature was not bad at all.

Song Grade: B

Bars: “We in the game like Madden”

4. Plug Walk

Beat: B. No big beat changes but all in all it’s still a great beat.

Feature: None.

Song Grade: A

Bars: “I’m on the wave like a durag”

5. Too Gone

Beat: A. It stayed the same all the way through and fit Khalid’s singing and Rich’s rapping.

Feature: A. Khalid sung the chorus amazingly! I was excited to hear his part and it came out great.

Song Grade: A

6. Made It

Beat: C. I didn’t like Rich’s flow and the beat was just to slow again.

Feature: B. Rick Ross had a decent part but it could be better. Jay Critch who was just recently signed to Rich Forever had a good verse, I don’t like Jay but his part was actually pretty good although it was short.

Song Grade: C

7. Drippin

Beat: A. There was a constant high pitched drum in the background which sounded amazing.

Feature: A. Chris Brown killed his verse, He rapepd most of it which is the best part of Chris, He through a few vocals which was nice.

Song Grade: A

Bars: “You ain’t gonna catch me slipping me in traffic, Fuck a Uber, Brought the shooters”

8. Lost It

Beat: C. Again Rich doesn’t sound the same on a slow beat, but it did change up farther into the song.

Feature: A. Quavo and Offset both killed this track. Quavo had a good verse and Offset had an amazing verse as he went off!

Song Grade: B

Bars: “Give me the weight I’ll bench it”

9. End Of Discussion

Beat: B. Another slow beat but Rich sounded better on this one.

Feature: A. Lil Wayne immediately came in and spit a bar.

Song Grade: A

Bars: Lil Wayne’s whole entire verse!!!!!

10. Early Morning Trappin

Beat: A. The beginning part of the beat is amazing where you hear like a real cool sound.

Feature: A. Trippie Redd completely killed his part as he was rapping and not screaming.

Song Grade: A.

11. Small Things

Beat: B. It’s hard for me to say any beat is bad by Rich because all his beats are good.

Feature: None.

Song Grade: C

12. Listen Up

Beat: D. I felt a techno type beat from this beat and didn’t really enjoy it.

Feature: None.

Song Grade: D

13. Gargoyle

Beat: A. The first few seconds of the beat already had me feeling some type of way.

Feature: A. Swae Lee had a super slow verse but it was amazing. Offset took the chill vibe from this song and switched it up.

Song Grade: A

Bars: “She’s a lawn mower, I just John Doe’d her”

14. Dead Friends (Lil Uzi Vert Diss)

Beat: B. Just another casual Rich The Kid beat and his flow killed this song.

Feature: None

Song Grade: A

All in all it was a great album! The features really hold this album down and Rich really knows how to use other artists to make a hit. Thank You For Reading!

Rich The Kid

--

--

Avery Price
Mic Drop

I'm a 16 year old with a passion for writing. But not just writing about anything, I love watching sports like Basketball and Football. Plus Rap!