THIS RAPPER NEEDS TO BE STOPPED!!

Avery Price
Mic Drop
Published in
2 min readMar 6, 2018
Joyner Lucas

Don’t take this the wrong way…I love Joyner Lucas’ music but I have a topic that needs to be brought up surrounding his name. Joyner Lucas is an amazing artist with one of if not the best flows in the game. His lyricism is crazy. He is a new artist that is looking for a spot on XXL. Here’s where the problem is:

Joyner has a huge fan base and they would love to see him in XXL. His freestyle would be sick. As a fan I’m ecstatic to see him grinding. But I have a question. Is he growing too fast? People are telling me that Lil Pump and, Cardi B are too big for the cover. With Joyner’s new single Stranger Things what is different from him then the 3 rappers I listed.

Lil Pump:

Yes, I realize Pump has bigger hits. But is XXL really going to make that bad of a decision and put Lil Pump on the cover? There goal is too boost artists and grow there fanbase. Not make their fans realize “Damn this dude can’t freestyle to save his life.” Are you guys going to want too hear a freestyle that will go like this “Lean, Lean, Lean, Margiela, Lean, Lean, Lean, Margiela.” NO!

Cardi B:

I do believe that Cardi B is too big for the cover and that lesser known rappers deserve a spot over her. If she does get accepted, she will most likely decline. Cardi can actually drop some lyrics. She is just to big and popping. But XXL would be dumb if they didn’t at least try to get her on.

As I’m writing this Joyner dropped another song. Look Alive (Remix) where he dissed Logic and took major shots at him. The song currently has 1 million views in under a day. Joyner is taking off and becoming mainstream. This is bad, hopefully this song doesn’t pop off like I’m Not Racist did.

Let’s take a look at some Rappers that were already big and then chose XXL and fell off. Fetty Wap, August Alsina, Trinidad James, Ace Hood and, Iggy Azalea. I’m praying that this doesn’t happen to Joyner. Thank you for reading! Hope you enjoyed! If you did clap it up!

--

--

Avery Price
Mic Drop

I'm a 16 year old with a passion for writing. But not just writing about anything, I love watching sports like Basketball and Football. Plus Rap!