Vennisay ‘Everyone Hates Vennisay’ Album Review

Avery Price
Mic Drop
Published in
7 min readJun 22, 2020

Today’s article is an album review of a friend of mine who goes by the name Vennisay. I got hip to Vennisay when I was added to a group chat with a bunch of rappers in my area. We all would share music and make music together and just chat. It was pretty cool. Vennisay showed us one of his songs, It was called ‘Already Gone (ft. uuklee)’ on SoundCloud and I loved that song. It was the first and only song I had heard from him and after that I really wanted a lot more of his music. Fast forward to 2020 and he has now dropped a 13 song album on all major platforms. Today I am going to be giving it a listen and letting you guys know how I feel about it. Welcome to the review of ‘Everyone Hates Vennisay’.

Track 1: Falling For You (feat. Rain Lucy)

Rain Lucy started the song off with a very fire and catchy hook. This is one of those hooks that will definitely stick with you and be easy to sing along. I enjoy that a lot. Vennisay came in with his verse and killed it. He stayed on topic with the hook and title song and everything just meshed together very well. Both artists’ vocals are on another level and this is a really good song.

Rating: 8/10

Track 2: Skateboard

As soon as the beat started on this track. I got huge Green Day vibes. Back in the day I loved Green Day so I’m excited to see what Vennisay does with this track. I love the way he started this out. The beat stopped and then came back and he began singing. The way he kept the lyrics the same for both hooks but switched his tone of voice was amazing. I loved how he brought more energy into the 2nd hook after we heard the verse and got a good feeling of what the song was going to be like. This one is pretty good.

Rating: 8/10

Track 3: Cxld (feat. uuklee)

The only other time I’ve ever heard uuklee was on the first song I heard of Vennisay’s and that song was amazing. So I’m really excited to see what they do on this song together. This beat sounds very familiar but I have no clue why. Vennisay started it off with a very catchy hook. Then they both split the 1st verse. The vibe Vennisay brought to the track was a very sad and heartbreak type of vibe. But, uuklee started his part off still singing and on beat like Vennisay but he was very off topic. I don’t know if they did that on purpose. But, when I listen to a song I like to have the same vibe and feeling throughout the whole song. This is a very good song no doubt but it could’ve been better.

Rating: 6/10

Track 4: ThoT (feat. Rain Lucy)

Okay this song right here is a banger! Out of every song I’ve heard so far, This one has the most potential to blow up. The beat is hard and sounds like they should be just spitting some crazy shit but they’re doing the catchy singing stuff again and it sounds amazing. Vennisay and Rain Lucy are really really good together. I need a collab album between the two. I don’t know if you guys have heard of Lil West and Brevin Kim. But, I get huge Lil West and Brevin Kim vibes when these 2 are together. Great song!

Rating: 9/10

Track 5: Bad Day

I can already tell that this song is going to be one of my favorites. It’s so chill and calming. Vennisay’s vocals are on a different level and way better than a lot of bigger artists. The beat is nice and fits with his voice perfectly. I’m going to play this song so much. Definitely my favorite so far!

Rating: 10/10

Track 6: Louis Belt (feat. Cheef Phantom)

Going into this track, I have never heard anything of Cheef Phantom’s before. But his first few lines were really good and had some really good lyrics. His rapping style mixed with Vennisays vocals were really good. Cheef Phantoms rhyme scheme was very good. Mixed with Vennisays hook very well. I like everything about this song from the idea to the beat. It’s a very good song.

Rating: 8/10

Track 7: Mud

The beat is giving me huge Roddy Ricch vibes but Vennisay definitely did his own thing. It’s hard comparing him to anyone else when he has his own sound. Something I haven’t heard before and I really enjoy it. This song is good, Definitely not one of the better ones. Not too much to say about this one but that the album still would’ve been the same without it. Nothing too special.

Rating: 6/10

Track 8: Graveyard (feat. Yung Keeta)

I love that he’s introducing me to new artists. I’ve never heard of Yung Keeta before but I’m excited to hear it. The first thing I thought of when the song started was Iann Dior. From the beat to Vennisay’s flow it gave me huge Iann Dior vibes. I love Iann Dior and this song reminds me a lot of him. The one thing that really surprised me with the album so far is that I haven’t heard even one little second of bad quality. With Vennisay not being as big as other rappers and not having as many opportunities as other rappers, I expected some bad quality here and there but I haven’t experienced any. This song shows that a lot. Yung Keeta’s voice sounded mixed and mastered very well with the autotune. Vennisay’s voice has sounded really good all throughout the project and especially on this song.

Rating: 8/10

Track 9: Logorrhea

I’ve never heard the term logorrhea before. But, I just looked it up and it basically means to talk a lot. He starts off the song saying “Haters keep on talking got that logorrhea.” Hearing that line and looking up what logorrhea meant, Set the rest of the vibe for the whole song and he stuck with it. This is just a song where he’s talking his shit but still doing it in a singing way which I love and think he did very well not just on this song but throughout the whole project.

Rating: 8/10

Track 10: Movie (feat. T Raw)

After that more hype and turnt up track from before, I like how he switched back to a sad song with another feature I haven’t heard of before. I always love finding new music so not only is he getting me hip to his new music but also new artists. This song is really really good. The hook is beyond catchy and Vennisay did a very good job on the verse. I like how he switched up tones on different hooks like before. T Raw came in with very good autotune like Yung Keeta.

Rating: 9/10

Track 11: Suicide

Huge XXXTentacion vibes and I love it. The slow guitar beat is fire! The lyrics and what he’s talking about is amazing! It sounds like he’s actually talking about things that really happened and real topics. I love when artists connect us with their personal life because a lot of us listeners have or are going through the same things and it’s easy to connect with. The end of the last verse was my favorite part and sounded really good meshed into the hook. Vennisay killed this track and it’s easily one of my favorites.

Rating: 10/10

Track 12: Mars

I think this was probably the best song to put after Suicide. They sounded really good back to back. I don’t know if I would really change anything about this song. I like the hook and the part where he rhymed Jupiter with losing her. Also, A lot of sad based albums with a lot of tracks you start to see the artists repeating themselves or re using the same rhyme scheme. But, Vennisay did a very good job with that. Every song so far gave me a different vibe and nothing sounded the same. Great track!

Rating: 8/10

Track 13: Happy Breakup

This is the last song, The outro track. I like how he ended the album with 3 of his own songs with no features. Really good way to end the album. I like the title. It’s not normal, It sticks out. A happy breakup isn’t very common so I’m excited to see what he does with this. The beat sticks out and sounds very different from any beat he’s used on this album. Great song and a great way to end the album.

Rating: 9/10

My overall take on the whole album is that this was a very well put together and well recorded project. I haven’t heard too many tracks of Vennisay’s before this album and I actually debated doing this. But, I’m so happy that I did. Every song but maybe 1 will be added to my songs on Apple Music and I can’t wait to hear these for the 2nd time. Most songs that I like on the 1st listen get even better with the 2nd and 3rd listens so I can’t wait to keep listening to this. If you guys haven’t checked this album out by now. I really think you should. It’s called ‘Everyone Hates Vennisay’ by Vennisay. You can find it on Apple Music, Spotify, Tidal and, YouTube. Here is the YouTube link and I 100% recommend you to give it a listen. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNo-f292Up8&list=OLAK5uy_kW-YhFSdY7AG1Bq7Q4TPatuJGqeq9Wbz0

--

--

Avery Price
Mic Drop

I'm a 16 year old with a passion for writing. But not just writing about anything, I love watching sports like Basketball and Football. Plus Rap!