Yearning Justice

In the memory of George Floyd & the countless wronged before him.

Zubair Abid
MIC Musings
2 min readMay 31, 2020

--

Photo by Josh Hild on Unsplash

We, as humans, yearn for nothing more than justice. Given that I recognize injustice towards me, I will fight against it. As long as I can discern my rights and their infringement, I will fend off the violator. You can break my bones, inflict me damage of other kinds; I can let that go. I cannot let go of injustice.

From Madiba to MLK and Malcolm X, all speak to that desire. The hundreds of millions of people who laid their lives for freedom over centuries in every nook and cranny of this land, embody the same motive. Notwithstanding the eternity of time, one group of humans has spent under the subjugation of another group; the thirst for freedom persisted.

I may not stand now, I may not rise, I may not fight, I may not be able to halt the cadence of evil, but I will come back another day. Today, I may not have the strength, the perseverance, the courage, the endurance to stand; but I will rise another day.

I don’t ask for much, though, no shimmering cars, no eccentric paintings, got no desire for luxuries. I just want freedom. I want to be able to breathe, to sit, to stand, to run, to feel, to say, to sing, to fight, to kneel, to be free, to be seen as equal. I may not win it today, but I will rise another day.

I see the naked prejudice you exhibit from your eyes, your words, your actions and your intentions. The discrimination, driven by the colour of my skin, the size of my purse, and the shade of my faith. I want to seize that bias. I may not capture it today, but I will rise another day.

The narrative of human equality that you spun holds true for your class but it doesn’t hold true for mine. It doesn’t hold right for the black, the weak, the poor, those in minority, those who look different from your class. Those who sound different or desire different from what you do. Then let’s either abandon this facade of fairness and set you as my master and me as your slave or make it right. For if we don’t make it right today, we may not have another day.

--

--

Zubair Abid
MIC Musings

An avid learner. Writes on MIC (Mental health, Inequality & Climate change).