About Me

Micah Wolfe
Micah Wolfe
Published in
2 min readNov 13, 2017
Glacier Point, Yosemite National Park

For the past 5 years, I’ve been the Design Director at Keen IO, an analytics platform company that enables software developers to build powerful, scalable, data tools and visualizations into their products. At Keen I developed a brand that grew to a community of over 75,000 users, designed software used by over 3,000 companies, and recently overhauled our onboarding experience to boost new account activation by 65%.

My experience at Keen has been broad, spanning across user experience design, product design, user research, communication design, branding, creative direction, and workshop facilitation.

Prior to Keen, I was the Design Director at iFixit, the online destination for immersive, photo-centric, DIY repair manuals for electronics. During my time there, we launched Dozuki, turning the software that powered iFixit into a platform for training, support, and work instructions. Dozuki powered solutions for Crucial, O’Reilly Media, and Patagonia to name a few.

Mojave Lounge Chair, designed at Rick Lee Design

Before working primarily in the digital space, I designed furniture and interiors at Rick Lee Design, where we worked with several international clients, including one that debuted with a line of contemporary bamboo furnishings.

My work for Meka Robotics, featured on the cover of the November 2014 issue

I also designed several humanoid body components and conceptual products for various robotics companies, most of which were acquired by Google in 2013. In November of 2014, I was honored to have my work featured on the cover of Popular Science.

I acquired my BFA in Industrial Design from the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign with an emphasis on user-empathic methodologies and collaborative projects with fellow designers, architects, and engineers.

In my spare time you can find me in the great outdoors with my wife and our dog, working on our home, traveling and taking photographs, or in the garage where I’m starting to pick up traditional woodworking.

--

--

Micah Wolfe
Micah Wolfe

Designer of the digital, the tangible, and things that lie somewhere in between.