Michael Masters
Michael Masters
Published in
4 min readJan 20, 2016

--

I’ve always had this fierce love and profound hatred for writing. It seemed as if the best writers were naturals at it. With their long goose quill pens, they effortlessly record thousands of words before breakfast, and spend the rest of their day at the park with the family. Right?

OK, so maybe that isn’t an entirely accurate portrayal of a day in the life of a literary genius, but the thought has always been enough to prevent myself from taking the leap; because I knew what it would require of me. Painting pictures with words would call for an intense commitment on my part. As Philip Stanhope says, “Anything worth doing is worth doing well”.

Knowing myself, I had to weigh the notion against my already loaded schedule. I am an extreme person. I’m the kind of guy that you would’ve wanted on your softball team. I slid. I dove. I pulled muscles in my back and thigh. I don’t play softball much anymore. But I bring this same extreme-ness in everything I do. So it is, and will be, with anything I write.

“Anything worth doing is worth doing well” — Philip Stanhope

I expect that I will fail often. Of course, that’s part of any creative endeavor. I’m positive that I will offend people. For instance, I follow Jesus. A dividing line just got drawn between me and someone that never knew this about me until now. Isn’t that great?! I mean, it’s not great to be divided, but the best friendships thrive with transparency; because they know I won’t allow the most influential person, who I credit my very existence to, to just remain in the corner whispering, “Are you going to make a mention of me this time, Michael?”

If you’re not a believer, I hope that you will see(if you’re still reading) how difficult it is for a 21st century Christian man to keep non-believing friends. If my faith hasn’t come between us by now, that’s your doing. You’re choosing to accept somebody with an unattractive worldview. Thanks for hanging in there, despite our differences. I cherish you.

At this time, I can almost hear the thoughts of my secular friends now: “Michael, why would you even mention spiritual things to me when you know I’m not a spiritual person?” I understand this question. And there are multiple spiritual reasons why I would, but here’s a rational one; if Jesus really is that important to me, he should be making regular appearances in my social life. Also, if the Gospel(the life, death, and resurrection of Christ) is really good news, and I really believe it, it would be selfish of me not to share it!

If it helps nail it down, I would like you to take the following statement:

“Michael’s Jesus is equal to my ________”. Fill in the blank with what’s most important to YOU, be it “my happiness”, “my children”, “Republican nominee”, “Democratic nominee”, “my job”, “my late night snacks”(hint- just scroll through your Facebook feed). This could be our way to gain common ground, and be clear on what is at the core of our identity. I’ll try not to over-saturate the conversation with my beliefs. And when these things do surface, I will try to speak a universal language. And know this, I accept you too, as you are.

“Michael’s Jesus = My __________ (fill in the blank)”

Moving on from my spiritual rabbit hole, I promise that I will not write about subject material that doesn’t engage me, just to have something to write. For that reason, this may lack direction for awhile, and may not be a weekly gig. Inspiration is at the wheel until the time a niche comes along. If it never does, than let impartiality be my niche.

Also, many know that my life is one of actively engaging in a dance with the imagination in all its fluidity and unpredictability. I am so fascinated by the creative process, that I have begun to personify the varying attributes and character traits that help or hinder artists within project work. I call them “The Players”. Imagination is, herself, a major player in the process. I will do my best to record and document her appearances in my journey, and try to harness some truths about her nature, so as to be able to step in at will, when the professional life demands the best I’ve got to offer at a moment’s notice. It is my hope to be relevant and thought-provoking, sharing inspiration and hard-to-find gems with like-minded creative types and dreamers.

Well, it appears this is coming together quite nicely already. To recap: In future posts, you should see evidence of Jesus, and my journey with him. You will undoubtedly witness how my spiritual life intersects with my creative life, and how I’m learning ways to grow and thrive as a creative design professional. This might include transactions with the Players, certain techniques I like, resources, tools, or interviews with other creative professionals. I’d be grateful for your thoughts along the way; what you like or dislike about my postings. Your feedback is essential for me when deciding my next steps or future material. So long, and join me next time as I discuss…Rafael Nadal?

--

--