Creating an Audiobook

Michaela Brown
Michaela Brown Portfolio
7 min readSep 19, 2018

Abstract: I started this audiobook project as part of a class I am taking at Utah Valley University. The class is called Immersive Authoring. The parameters of this project were redressing metadata to enhance the audiobook experience.

Problem

When receiving a newly downloaded audiobook, the metadata must always be corrected. This college course required correcting the metadata to improve the audiobook listener’s experience.

Objectives

  • Pick a book I would like to work with.
  • Create a new cover.
  • Reorganize how it was formatted and the metadata involved.
  • Document the process.
  • Enhance, not detract from the original audio publication.

Process

The first step was finding an audiobook I could easily download to adjust the metadata. I went to my local library, which has a collection of audiobooks you can borrow and copy. I started searching for a specific book. Since the collection is relatively small, I could not find the book. Instead, I began browsing the shelves to find an audiobook to which I already own a printed copy. I first came across two books that I owned. The first was Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson. The second was Keturah and Lord Death by Martine Leavitt. The two audiobooks were different in length. I choose the shorter one, Keturah and Lord Death. Ripping the CD took a few minutes, but the audiobook metadata was ready to be adjusted and modified.

The next step was creating the cover art. I created it in Adobe Illustrator and used reference pictures to design it.

My reference pictures for the audiobook cover.

As I worked towards the final product, I did so in steps.

  1. The dark, cloaked figure in the background.
  2. The background of trees.
  3. The forest floor.
  4. The stag.

Using the pen tool in Illustrator, I created all these assets from scratch in vector format. The background was created with each tree being individually designed and placed to create the effect of visual depth. The forest floor had a black-to-gray gradient from the bottom to the top. It had three gradient stops to make the transition between colors more seamless. The stag was the only visual that needed two reference pictures. Initially, the stag was one-dimensional and didn’t have ears. I added some definition by adding an opaque layer in front of those sections to create the visual depth on the stag.

Here is my workspace as it was at the end of my project.

I had organizational issues as I started working with the audio files I had ripped off the CD. Instead of figuring out the order of the files, I started over. This time, I used an Apple laptop. I burned the CD using iTunes, adjusting the files’ names to chapters 1–1, 1–2, etc.

How I reorganized the files.

I began organizing the audio files within the audiobook builder program into their respective chapters. I kept the prologue as a separate chapter, named the folders/chapters 1–14 and the prologue.

I started to decide on how to adjust the metadata fields that were available to change.

I renamed the chapters from the number 1–14 and prologue to a one, two, or three-word synopsis of the chapter. For example, the prologue turned into A Stories Beginning.

Final organization within Audiobook Builder

I added my cover art to the file. In the first attempt, the color came out lighter than expected. I found that this was due to it being outputted as a JPEG file. I exported the file again as a PNG. Retesting the image, it was no longer lacking in color depth. It was used as the final product.

Left to right: PNG image, JPEG image

I started creating chapter art. I started with an Illustrator file using the same font as the title on the audiobook cover, putting in a black background, and adding Roman numerals. I adjusted the typography to have rounded corners, especially on the V. I used the same file for all the chapter artwork, saving it as a separate file each time I created a new number. Within all the saves, I also had to readjust the size of the letters to fit the size of the artboard. I then added each of these files to the audiobook builder.

Chapter art example.

The process entered its final stage, creating the audiobook. In the program there are a few options for formatting the book, I tested each option and decided to break per chapter.

Options that are given for creating the audiobook.

In iTunes, I looked at the metadata fields. I added a few things, like the publication date and who originally put the audiobook together. Within the description sections, I added a description per chapter. The first description was the synopsis for the entire book. I put it into the prologue’s infobox. It took me three attempts to come up with the correct phrasing.

Synopsis

I wanted to include a synopsis within the form slot for each chapter. I realized that most people don’t want the plot ruined before they can read the book. Instead of a synopsis, I included a quote from that book chapter that summed up the chapter nicely.

Due to some issues with the Apple laptop I was using, I had to transfer the files to my PC laptop. When the files were transferred, they didn’t keep the descriptions, cover, and chapter artwork. I reentered each item again and found another field that I could add data to: the comments section. In this section, I gave my opinion of each chapter within the field.

Final metadata on PC.

Testing

To test the audiobook, I downloaded the content on three devices: an iPad Mini 4, a Samsung phone, and a Google Pixel 2. The iPad had no major issues with the file; there were only a few visual errors from the app that I had no control over.

All the views the iPad has of the audiobook.

There were so many issues on the Android device. First, find a way to transfer the files. The quickest option was adding the files to Google Drive and downloading them onto the phone from the app. After transferring the files to Google Drive, I downloaded them to my phone. The files didn’t open, and an unable to open file prompt was given.

I downloaded several apps that said they could play the file type. I tried Smart AudioBook Player, VLC Media Player, Simple Audiobook Player, Audiobook, and M4A Music Player. Each had its issues. Half of them couldn’t open the files, two didn’t organize the files correctly, and the last one didn’t show any of the artwork I made. In the end, the most promising app was VLC Media Player, but to use the app correctly, I would have to rename the files using numbers instead of titles. Having the numbers 1–9 have a zero in front of them; otherwise, it will sort it wrong.

Badly organized files

When creating the audiobook for iTunes and Android, having two different organization types is best. With iTunes, you can have titles, but you need numbers with Android.

On, Google Pixel 2, it’s still technically an Android phone, however, the files will work on Google Play Music.

Outcome

A fully functioning audiobook file with excellent metadata with chapter artwork, cover artwork, descriptions, and comments.

What I Learned

I learned about the importance of metadata when creating any digital project, how to design graphical artwork using Adobe Illustrator, how to test a single product on multiple devices, and that designing for the user is critical.

--

--

Michaela Brown
Michaela Brown Portfolio

Web Design and UI/UX Designer. Interaction Design Bachelors degree 2020.