This is Me

Michaela Brown
Michaela Brown Portfolio
3 min readApr 2, 2018

Hi, my name is Michaela Brown. I studied web design and development at UVU and continue to work there in the Creative Services Department. I live in Orem, Utah, and have lived in Utah my whole life. The farthest I have traveled would be Scotland, England, Ireland, and Wales. I traveled to all of these countries on one trip, on a bus tour. Spending more time in each place would be a lot of fun. I would also like to go to Japan eventually to experience the culture. I enjoy music, reading, writing, electronics, art, and people. Music allows me to access my feelings about things through other’s words. Reading allows me to escape my reality and enter someone else’s life. Writing allows me to create a reality other than my own. Art allows me to express my emotions healthily and positively. Electronics are a way to experience the world within the comfort of my own home. People keep me grounded in the fun part of reality. I am an introvert and find it easier to focus when I have time to think about how to solve problems.

Technology

Regarding working within my job, I like working with programs like Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator, and Adobe XD. I have a basic understanding of programming using HTML5 and CSS.

I am relatively new to the technology field and don’t care about having the latest version of everything resembling advanced technology. Sure, a few things interest me, like virtual reality, smaller printers, new gaming advances, and anything related to photography equipment. I enjoy how tablets, phones, and laptops help and entertain us. I appreciate a thoughtfully created website or an attractive design. I tend to appreciate what I have and don’t find the need to have new things all the time. I also rarely feel the need to post anything on social media. I find it a small focus, but I have enjoyed creating and implementing content for other social media presences.

I rarely cause conflict because I am pretty emotional and don’t like it when others are stressed or hurt. Nor do I like being the one who gets hurt or reprimanded. So I always try my best and follow directions as close as possible. I can still be reasonably obstinate when my view doesn’t match a direction I find lacking. But even then, I try to respond calmly and avoid being a jerk.

I am a visual thinker and learner. Visuals are helpful because I see how it works, the steps, and the final product. As long as people are willing to work with me, I have found that I learn fairly fast. This is a valuable asset in a field that constantly evolves.

-Michaela Brown, a graphic web designer.

--

--

Michaela Brown
Michaela Brown Portfolio

Web Design and UI/UX Designer. Interaction Design Bachelors degree 2020.