I Create an Instagram: Adaptive Media pt.2

Michaela Brown
Michaela Brown Portfolio
5 min readNov 18, 2019

Abstract: To start, I was told by my teacher for this class to create an original Instagram for one of my projects in the fall semester of 2019. This class requires that I adapt media between four different mediums. The third medium of publication is social media, and this is the hows and whys of the project.

Why Instagram?

http://www.differencebetween.net/technology/difference-between-snapchat-and-instragram/

We had two choices when coming up with this project. Snapchat or Instagram. They are both media-sharing sites, usually videos and pictures. However, they go about it in a completely different way. On Instagram, they are about adding filters to make your amateur photos look professional. Snapchat is a messaging app based on images; Instagram does not have this feature. Snapchat also has images that disappear, whereas the pictures are more permanent on Instagram. I chose Instagram because of its long-lasting photos and because it lets me share something permanent, which is precisely how books are.

The media platform I chose.

It’s all about the Content

Examples of some of the posts I created.

I had nine differing posts. Each had its unique purpose. Some were purely for sharing images or videos, some were for having people share their opinions, and some were for sharing my other avenues for using media adaptively. The first post I created was a video. It was a video showing books on a table. It was from an elementary school book fair and was a way to show that there are options for fantasy books for all ages. My next two posts were opinion-sharing. The first is book recommendations for me and others to read. The next was more controversial: why I should read our generation's most influential fantasy books. The fourth one was a boomerang, which is a flipping book. This video was a post to explain why I like reading physical copies of books so much. The subsequent series of akin posts directed users to other media-sharing platforms I’ve previously utilized, aiming to bolster the branding of my adaptive media. They linked to both my podcast and my Goodreads account. I had another set of posts that gave the viewers my recommended fantasy books. I read these books during my reading career, starting in grade 7. My last post was your average bookstagram post with books and a fancy background, which I dubbed as my future fantasy book reading list. My 10th and final idea was a featured story that included a book of the week recommendation. I would add a new book each week as part of my story. I did all these posts to convince others to read books and interact with the community.

Publishing Strategy

My publishing strategy for this aspect of the class included personalization, distribution, choice of platform, and adaptability.

Consistent Personalization of Instagram

For personalization, I used the same logo and title of my Instagram account as I have previously used in my podcast. For distribution, I familiarized myself with both optional platforms and chose the one that made the most sense for the content I created. The platform's choice was mainly based on its longevity in how people would view my content. Then, the adaptability of content for this project was easy because my content is so based on visuals and opinions that having both in each post was easy. This distribution of content was my favorite way to create adaptive media.

How the social media community would interact with my posts

Within each post I created, there was some way that my viewers could interact with the content. Most of the ways they could interact included asking questions. Some examples of questions I included were:

  1. Do you have books that you recommend for me to read?
  2. Please share your opinion on why I should read this popular book.
  3. Why do you love books?
  4. Have you read this?
  5. Which should I read next?

Another way my viewers can interact with me is to follow me on other platforms I linked to in two of my posts. One is the podcast I created, and the other is my Goodreads account. I have also allowed them to read the same books I have read and plan to read each week, which we can discuss after we finish reading.

Conclusion

Each version of our adaptive media has its strengths and weaknesses. Of the three ways I have adapted this theme of fantasy books, this made the most sense and had the most extensive variety for my content. With the podcast, it was very one-note, being only book reviews. With the news aggregator and creating articles, there are only so many topics you can write about before repeating yourself. With Instagram, your options are only as limited as your imagination. However, one of the downfalls to Instagram is that there are so many similar types of Instagram that sometimes it’s hard to stand out because it is based on followers. So, you need to brand yourself well and get people to return to your content. I can’t wait to continue my adaptive media journey. The next platform I am heading to is Facebook. Here is my Instagram if you wish to see more of what I have done.

Follow me on Instagram at @worlds_of.ink. https://www.instagram.com/invites/contact/i=1n426y5899h0b&utm_content=b51cu1g

--

--

Michaela Brown
Michaela Brown Portfolio

Web Design and UI/UX Designer. Interaction Design Bachelors degree 2020.