Fur-Pets

Michelle Arevalo's Portfolio
Michelle Arevalo
Published in
3 min readFeb 21, 2023

Fur-Pets is a dog walking app that helps dog owners feel confident that their pets are in safe hands.

Fur-Pets is a app that helps pet owners find the perfect pet-sitters they can rely on to take care of their pets when they’re away. It’s an easy way to find reliable people that are always there when they need them.

User Persona

Research User Interviews

After I conducted user interviews I found that their major concerns were having a stranger take care of their pets, and finding someone who fits their schedule. My goals were to help build trust between dog owners and pet caregivers as well as create a fast and easy service to use.

Research Competitive Analysis

After looking at popular dog walking services I found that users don’t have a history of pet caregivers they can go back to. Every time a user needs to hire a service they have to go through the whole search process again.

Userflow

When building my user flow I wanted to focus setting safety precautions. Pet owners and pet caregivers have to submit their ID and add a profile picture to their accounts. Pet owners also have the option to set a meeting with the pet caregiver before booking a pet service. This helps create trust between the two and helps create a safe community for both parties.

Wireframes

The next step I took was to create wireframes in greyscale. This helped me focus on what steps the user has to take without focusing on the details like color and type.

Mood Board

Creating a mood board helped me discover what tone and feeling I wanted to come across to the user.

Final Product

After user testing I discovered that the UX copy was confusing to the users so I made changes to make the instructions clearer. The search bar has also been moved to the top so users can easily access it.

Final Thoughts

I enjoyed creating this app, and being able to perform user testing. This was a great opportunity to think about all the challenges the user may face and how I could help. In the limited time I had I am proud of my app, and I will continue to expand it. This time focusing on the pet caregivers, and the challenges they may face.

--

--

Michelle Arevalo's Portfolio
Michelle Arevalo

Hi I am a freelancer and student studying New Media Design at Rochester Institute of Technology.