How Capitalism, Racism, and Sexism Breed Imposter Syndrome

Brina Golubovic
The Michigan Specter
5 min readDec 8, 2022

College can be an isolating and daunting time for students with many often questioning whether they’re “good enough” to be where they are. The University of Michigan is no exception. From transfers struggling with their sense of belonging to freshmen terrified of what the future holds, a substantial part of the student body faces one collective problem: imposter syndrome. As a transfer student, I constantly find myself dealing with anxiety and high levels of stress, oftentimes related to this experience. I’ve spent sleepless nights wondering if I am smart enough to be at UofM or if there was a mistake in my transfer process. Imposter syndrome has seemingly taken over my life; when enjoying free time, I cross-examine my attendance at the university. Many times I avoid answering questions or speaking up during class.

I’m currently taking a course, Law and Society (SOC 354), where I’ve had no issues thriving. Although I thoroughly enjoy the content and am well versed on what we are studying, I find myself hiding away in the back of the lecture hall every class period. I keep my head down and refuse to share my thoughts during lecture. This is not due to my distaste for the course nor my lack of knowledge on the subject, rather it is because I fear being seen as stupid by my peers and professor. My inner dialogue says there is no way I am as intelligent as the others in the class. How can I attempt to answer a question if I am not smart enough to know the answer? I might as well stay quiet. My previous courses and college experiences have not made for a smooth transition into this new world, leaving me feeling secluded and confused. Yet, though I tell myself it is only me who faces these trials and tribulations, I hear many others speaking of similar experiences. It appears that students from every corner of the university deal with imposter syndrome, so what exactly is it? According to Mia Belle Frothingham, a writer for SimplyPsychology, imposter syndrome, also called perceived fraudulence, refers to an internal experience of self-doubt and believing you are not as competent as others perceive you to be. Can it be that simple? Do students just not feel “competent enough”? As is the case with many other issues in American society, the problem is more complex than that.

As is the case with most institutions in the United States, there are systemic issues hiding behind the curtain. Not only is imposter syndrome common, but it is most often seen in women, especially women of color. According to a study by Heriot-Watt University and the School for CEOs, over 50 percent of the women in the study reported facing imposter syndrome. The intersectionality of race and gender identity exacerbates feelings of imposter syndrome in women of color. Women are criticized and demonized for every form of behavior they engage in while cis white men are applauded for doing the same. Men are told they are “strong” and “resilient”, while women are “loud” and ‘bitchy.” No matter how much women study and how hard they work, men are always cheered above them. Women of color not only have to face sexist double standards but racist ones as well. People of color have been and are continuously told that they are simply not enough and that they will never be enough. In my own personal experience, courses pertaining to the political science realm are quite sexist. I find my opinions and knowledge on subjects pertaining to both political science and sociology are belittled, no matter if I have more education on the topic compared to a man. Commonly, male students in the field minimize the opinions of women. Whether I have been spoken over, had my ideas taken without acknowledgment, or been told “you don’t know what you’re talking about,” men in the field have found numerous ways to alienate me.

As a transfer student, I have been caught in situations with other students who diminish my intelligence due to where I attended prior to attending the University of Michigan. When others find out I am a transfer student, there is often a long pause. As if they are unsure how to respond, shocked that I previously attended a much less prestigious university. Similarly, my desire to have moments of rest, whether I complain of being tired or burnt out from the semester, I am told that I am lazy. Furthering my feelings of isolation, other students point out how I am not working hard enough. I am told that I need to have sleepless nights every night of the week and that I should have no free time to rest or relax with friends. There must only be schoolwork. Just as capitalism pushes the concept that everyone must live their lives to work, focusing only on work and material success, the environment created at the University of Michigan causes students to promote capitalist ideologies. Not only do I experience this, but I see other women face these obstacles. More specifically, women of color. In previous courses, women of color have shared their experiences in sharing their own thoughts and experiences of how racism and sexism have intersected in their lives. However, their voices were shut down and spoken over. Elitism appears to be at the forefront of these conversations. It is often the students that come from the upper class, who are consistently represented and encouraged to continue moving forward. But what of the underrepresented? Frequently, racism, sexism, and elitism aren’t someone saying “you’re not enough,” it can be through exclusion and belittling.

So, what now? Imposter syndrome will not disappear into thin air just because it has been recognized and defined. There needs to be a call to action. This is about more than just self-care and journaling. It is about dismantling the existing systems that cause such feelings to arise in the first place. Imposter Syndrome should no longer be seen as a “syndrome” but rather an emotion. Moreover, imposter syndrome must be recognized as stemming from systemic issues, such as those bred by capitalism. The overriding belief that everyone must work an unfathomable amount to succeed perpetuates the notion that one’s efforts will never be enough. As capitalism remains prominent in all of our lives, it will continue to further the belief that none of us are enough; we will always need to do more.

--

--