The promotional poster for Prince Paul’s “Prince Among Thieves’ album.

12 Amazing Things I’ve Learned About Beatmaking From Recent Micro-Chop Articles

Gino Sorcinelli
Micro-Chop

--

Micro-Chop articles generally fit into one of three categories. Many early pieces weave together multiple articles and interviews (always cited, of course) from other sites into one cohesive storyline. Then the site sort of evolved into narrative style interviews with musicians/producers. A third kind of article — like the Paul C long-form piece — combines deep archival research and original interviews I conduct myself.

To switch things up a bit, I’ve been doing more of the articles that combine a variety of sources into one story as of late. In the process I’ve discovered fascinating, little-known details about some of my favorite artists and projects. I decided to compile all of these insights into one easy to access list. Articles are hyperlinked in each of the items below if you want to further explore any of the stories. Enjoy.

  1. Paul C remade the “Brick House” bassline with an SP-12 and Rahzel beatbox sounds.

2. Doug E. Fresh picked out the sample for “Keep Risin’ To The Top”.

3. Ras G made most of ‘Baker’s Dozen’ on his iPhone.

4. Gravediggaz’ “Diary of a Madman” used a car commercial sample from a cassette.

5. The “I Got 5 On It” sample is a replay of a lifted 80s R & B loop.

6. Khrysis started making beats with a dual cassette boombox and some records.

7. Amos Larkins II created Miami bass music by accident.

8. Prince Paul edited Prince Among Thieves line by line with an ASR-10.

9. Rsonist of The Heatmakerz almost threw away the “Dipset Anthem” beat.

10. Eric Sermon’s “Full Cooperation” beat inspired Pharrell to make Jay Z’s “I Just Wanna Love U (Give It 2 Me)”.

11. The Bomb Squad used sampled 808 drums instead of basslines on It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back.

12. Hitman Howie Tee played instruments over the loop in Color Me Badd’s “I Wanna Sex You Up” “so the sample could disappear.”

If you enjoyed this piece, please consider following my Micro-Chop and Bookshelf Beats publications or donating to the Micro-Chop Patreon page. You can also read my work at HipHopDX or follow me on Twitter.

--

--

Gino Sorcinelli
Micro-Chop

Freelance journalist @Ableton, ‏@HipHopDX, @okayplayer, @Passionweiss, @RBMA, @ughhdotcom + @wearestillcrew. Creator of www.Micro-Chop.com and @bookshelfbeats.