6 Fascinating Details About The Making of Janet Jackson’s “Control”

Gino Sorcinelli
Micro-Chop
2 min readMar 29, 2017

--

On March 3rd I published an article in my Micro-Chop publication about the making of Janet Jackson’s Control. There was no special anniversary or reason for doing so, I just felt like writing about the album because I love it so much. Much to my surprise, “Janet Jackson, Jimmy Jam, Terry Lewis, and The Making of ‘Control’” ended up becoming my most read article on Medium in a matter of days, with over 5,300 people reading it since it went live less than a month ago. While I was working on the article, I couldn’t get over how interesting the backstory was. Here are six of my favorite tidbits that I learned during my research.

  1. Janet Jackson spent five or six days hanging out with Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis before they recorded a single song.
  2. Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis’s engineer quit on them before recording began so they recorded Control themselves.
  3. Many of the songs were distorted because of their inexperience, which contributed to the album’s unique sonic quality.
  4. Several of controls tracks were submitted to ex-Atlantic Starr lead singer Sharon Bryan for her upcoming solo album. She rejected all of them.
  5. Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis credit their time spent working with Prince for helping them think outside the box while working on Control.
  6. Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis thought of Janet Jackson’s voice as one of their instruments.

You can read the entire article by clicking the link below.

If you enjoyed this piece, please consider following my Bookshelf Beats and Micro-Chop publications or donating to the Micro-Chop Patreon page. You can also read my work at Cuepoint and HipHopDX.

--

--

Gino Sorcinelli
Micro-Chop

Freelance journalist @Ableton, ‏@HipHopDX, @okayplayer, @Passionweiss, @RBMA, @ughhdotcom + @wearestillcrew. Creator of www.Micro-Chop.com and @bookshelfbeats.