Cloth Mask’s Effectiveness Against Airborne Infection Is Questionable

After going through over 100 research papers, here’s what I’ve found.

Shin Jie Yong, MSc (Res)
Microbial Instincts

--

Cloth mask (pink color)
Image adapted from rawpixel.com.

In August 2021, Senator Rand Paul of Kentucky said that cloth masks don’t prevent infection from SARS-CoV-2 (that causes Covid-19) in a YouTube video. But Youtube banished the video and suspended Mr. Paul for a week. I got this news from Joe Duncan, a veteran independent writer.

“The New York Times blasted Rand Paul for saying that too but I think he might actually be right here, considering the science I’ve seen,” he told me. “Surely, a cloth mask is better than nothing, but how much better? If it only results in, say, a 15% filtration of particles/aerosols, instructing people to get cloth masks is a really, really bad idea.”

With my curiosity piqued, I first googled the effectiveness of cloth masks against SARS-CoV-2, especially the more transmissible Delta variant. Due to the lack of concrete info, I went to PubMed, a biomedical literature database, and looked through over 100 indexed papers about cloth masks.

Face masks in brief

We commonly use three types of face masks: N95s, surgical masks, and cloth masks. (For simplicity, all masks mentioned hereon are face masks.)

--

--

Shin Jie Yong, MSc (Res)
Microbial Instincts

Independent science writer and researcher | Named Standford's world top 1% scientists | Medium's boost nominator | Elite Powerlifter | Ghostwriter | Malaysian